Raider Ambush Points

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Crusty Colonel

Raider Ambush Points

Post by Crusty Colonel »

Hi there,
I'm a newbie to Dux, and had the privilege of playing my first game at VL3 a couple of months ago. I thought the game was great and have subsequently played many solo games in my limited time in the UK.

I have also watched the development of Infamy over the past few months and really like the use of ambush points. This got me thinking that there could be a way to introduce this into Dux. In fact an 'ambush' is allowed under the pre-battle phase: Begnino Numinae, Miracle, Surprise. However, it's not going to happen very often, and I think this sort of thing is what raiders would be especially adept at.

My thoughts as follows (yet to be tried out):

• Ambush points may be placed anywhere on the table, but must be based in a terrain feature and at least 12" away from the opposition’s deployment zone.

• The Scotti and Irish forces are allowed up to two ambush points, the Picts three. Britons & Saxons are not allowed any ambush points.

• Only the following troop types can deploy from an ambush point: Raiders, Raider Cavalry, Skirmish Cavalry, Commanded Skirmishers and War Hounds. No Noble troops or Chariots can deploy from an ambush point.

• Ambush points cannot be activated when an enemy is within 2" of them.

• Ambush points are closed down when an enemy makes contact with the point, even if they subsequently move away from that point.

• Troops may deploy from any ambush point when their respective card is dealt. At the instant they are revealed any enemy Group within 12" will take one point of shock if Elite troops, two if Warriors or three if Levy. No saves are allowed.

• All Troops, less Skirmishers, deploying from an ambush point must move directly towards the nearest enemy Group. If their movement takes them far enough, they will automatically contact the enemy.