Charging Over a Fence

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:16 pm

Charging Over a Fence

Post by MarcusColenious »

A union regiment is 8" away from a rebel infantry regiment who is defending a fence line. In the charge phase the union player declares a charge and because it is within charge range, moves up to 3" from the rebel unit as part of the charge move. The defender then performs defensive fire. The two sides fight a charge combat, and if the result is a draw, they can then fight a full melee. At no point in any of the rules is the intervening obstacle, "the fence" discussed in the rules.

When does the fence come into play requiring a Formation Test? To get to the enemy, at some point the union would have had to cross it or fight over it, right?

This would be the same question if the defended obstacle or terrain was 2" of woods or works/fortifications or a stone wall...

Posts: 5451
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Charging Over a Fence

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Marcus,
My understanding is that the fence line is ignored if the defenders are lining it and being attacked at the fence line. It only provides cover from firing.
However, if the defenders were holding a position some distance back from the fence line itself, then the attackers would have to pass a Formation Test to cross it as they advanced forward.


Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 4:44 pm

Re: Charging Over a Fence

Post by dakkadakka »

Another thought - if the Union won the charge roll and took the ground on the other side of the fence, would they take the test then?



User avatar
Posts: 909
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Charging Over a Fence

Post by DCRBrown »


The victorious unit has the choice to halt at the fence or wall and not cross or cross over and take a Foramtion test. (See Charge Combat results 1b and 3. p41.


Post Reply