Leaving the Table - or not!

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
LancasterMatt
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:50 pm

Leaving the Table - or not!

Post by LancasterMatt »

The rules about leaving the table are clear - as far as it goes. But raises some other questions:

1. If a unit reaches the table edge by evading or routing it can presumably NOT leave the table.
If it does should it stop or continue moving, skirting along the table edge?

2. If a group routs but does not reach the deployment edge it then must remain stationary until it has got rid of excess shock.
Does this mean it doesn't have the option to activate to retreat to a deployment Point or Deployment Zone?

User avatar
Quackstheking
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:07 am
Location: Cheshunt, Herts

Re: Leaving the Table - or not!

Post by Quackstheking »

1. A group does not leave the table by evading. Once it reaches the table edge it changes direction along the table edge to the limit of it’s movement. This was also covered in the FAQ. https://lookaside.fbsbx.com/file/Infamy ... rGI5YT1ijg

However a unit routing will rout off the table forcing a BTH roll for any leader still attached.

2. A group that routs initially routs 2d6 + 6” directly away from the enemy. After this it can still move when activated either by an attached leader or a Signa card played after Tempus Fugit.

However as per 8.2.2 it cannot end its move closer to any enemy and shock does not reduce movement if moving away from the enemy! A broken unit can voluntarily leave the table by contacting a Deployment Zone, DP or AP as per 5.8 on page 49 - there is no BTH for such a withdrawal.

Hope this helps.

Don

LancasterMatt
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:50 pm

Re: Leaving the Table - or not!

Post by LancasterMatt »

OK Thanks - read the section about retreating when broken and makes sense.

Still can't see where it says that if routers hit a table edge they are rout off table.
But it does make sense.

Post Reply