Acquire rule question

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
jrxl99
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:55 pm

Acquire rule question

Post by jrxl99 »

Apologies if this has been covered, didn't see it in my search. We are playing through our first game and have a question on retaining tank acquisition. Tank A and tank B each have line of sight, aim, and acquire at the end of turn one. Next turn, tank B moves behind a shed breaking LOS, but comes out the other side within Tank A's LOS and firing arc. Since at the end of this turn tank B is within LOS and firing arc, does tank A retain the acquire status? Or since tank B's movement broke LOS briefly during the turn, is acquire lost?

Thanks! Really enjoying the game so far, especially since it is easy to play in Tabletop Simulator.

Archdukek
Posts: 4992
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Acquire rule question

Post by Archdukek »

Acquire is lost as soon as line of sight is broken is my understanding, so the tank will need to be reacquired when it emerges.

John

siggian
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:22 am
Location: Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Acquire rule question

Post by siggian »

And also aim is lost because the target moved...

jrxl99
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:55 pm

Re: Acquire rule question

Post by jrxl99 »

Thanks for the replies.

Herkybird
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: Acquire rule question

Post by Herkybird »

I agree!

We always assume acquisition is lost even if only for a part of a move. One of our chaps did suggest that in such brief loss of acquisition situations, one less acquisition die is needed to re-acquire. Though logical, we stuck to the original rules!

It is a great game isn't it!

PS: in case you don't know, my revised points system, solo rules and Arab Israeli war rules are on our club website https://herkybird.tynesidewargames.co.uk/misc.html

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7526
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Acquire rule question

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Nope no dice stay over to next turn
However if you do manage to aquire and the target doesnt break LOS then that state carries over.

Best thing to do is in this situatjon is to move forward to the nearest obstacle then it doesn't count against you and maybe unbutton or retire out of LzoS and try a different approach.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7526
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Acquire rule question

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Nope no dice stay over to next turn
However if you do manage to aquire and the target doesnt break LOS then that state carries over.

Best thing to do is in this situatjon is to move forward to the nearest obstacle then it doesn't count against you and maybe unbutton or retire out of LoS and try a different approach.

Post Reply