The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
User avatar
TroubleAtTheMill
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Post by TroubleAtTheMill »

Dux Compendium - it's starting to get to That Time...

The link below is to the current draft of the rules clarifications section in the Compendium. Huge thanks to Derek Hodge for the initial compilation of these from Lardy Rich's answers on the various TFL discussion areas.

Notes in blue are where I or Derek have made a judgement call based on our best analysis of the rules, but haven't had a confirmation from Rich yet. Notes in red mean Rich has given conflicting answers (there's usually a note in blue with them).

Any comments and feedback is very welcome at this point.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/c572clclr7ezb ... 3.pdf?dl=0
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/

User avatar
TroubleAtTheMill
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Post by TroubleAtTheMill »

Note re page references - Dxx = main rulebook, Rxx = Raiders
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/

User avatar
TroubleAtTheMill
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Post by TroubleAtTheMill »

Just as an aside: while I’m very happy if this makes easier for people to play Dux, what I’m really looking for is people to read through it and go “no Mike, you’ve got that completely wrong”. Well, actually, ideally not that, but you know what I mean :)
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/

jarhead60mm
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Post by jarhead60mm »

Mike,
Thanks for all Derek's and your work on the Compendium.

Compendium Page 60
Rally (D30) - the effect of this card can be applied to Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry

D54 second paragraph states that Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry can never be rallied. It doesn't seem like the Rally card should be used to Rally Harassing Troops or Light Cavalry.

One for Rich to chime in on.

Looking forward to getting the Compendium.

Terry

User avatar
TroubleAtTheMill
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Post by TroubleAtTheMill »

The actual rules say “ Nobles may rally Shock from Groups under their command, however Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry can never be rallied”

I think we have taken the view that “Nobles” applies to the whole sentence. But open to debate. Also the wording on page 30 does not restrict the Rally card: it simply says “Group or Formation”.
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/

User avatar
TroubleAtTheMill
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Post by TroubleAtTheMill »

TroubleAtTheMill wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 10:31 pm
The actual rules say “ Nobles may rally Shock from Groups under their command, however Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry can never be rallied”

I think we have taken the view that “Nobles” applies to the whole sentence. But open to debate. Also the wording on page 30 does not restrict the Rally card: it simply says “Group or Formation”.
Actually, thinking about it some more, the second half of the sentence is actually an unnecessary complication, since (with the exception of Commanded Skirmishers in Raiders) no Harassing Troops can actually be commanded by a Noble.

I don't believe it was intended that a Rally card wouldn't work on Harassing Troops - there's only one in the deck, and frankly if your Harassing Troops Shock level is sufficiently important to you that you WANT to use it on them, my view is 'more power to you: go right ahead'.
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/

User avatar
WillieB
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:47 pm
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Post by WillieB »

If you are using the supplement ' Now That I What I Call Magic' you also have Priest, Bishops and other spiritual leaders that can rally shock from any unit.
You can't buy honour.

nicholascaldwell
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:57 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina
Contact:

Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.

Post by nicholascaldwell »

For what it's worth, I played my first game of DB last night. A couple of rules questions came up and I found the answer to two of them here. (Most notable, the fact that you can only order a unit to move once per turn and another one was about one of the cards).

Post Reply