The finer points of Skirmishing

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
Armchairgeneral
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2024 8:15 am

The finer points of Skirmishing

Post by Armchairgeneral »

1) In order to realign towards a flank, can skirmisher bases move individually, each base staying within its movement allowance of course, or does the skirmish line have to wheel as a whole?

2) Does a skirmish line block line of sight, or can a close-order unit screened by friendly skirmishers see the enemy beyond, and therefore charge them through its skirmish line?
(The interpenetration rules would seem to imply that they can.)

3) Do skirmishers derive any additional benefit from going prone?

4) Skirmishers do not have to evade when charged by enemy skirmishers - but do they have the option if the owning player wishes?

4) When charged by close-order troops, skirmishers must evade (and test for Elephants)
Is this considered to be their movement of the turn, or a bonus move as in maintaining minimum distance? Can they go prone in their new position (as per Retire)?

Thanks already - Stefan
User avatar
DCRBrown
Posts: 1379
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: The finer points of Skirmishing

Post by DCRBrown »

S,

1) In order to realign towards a flank, can skirmisher bases move individually, each base staying within its movement allowance of course, or does the skirmish line have to wheel as a whole?

Either/or. Whichever is easier to carry out the manoeuvre.

2) Does a skirmish line block line of sight, or can a close-order unit screened by friendly skirmishers see the enemy beyond, and therefore charge them through its skirmish line?
(The interpenetration rules would seem to imply that they can.)


Yes.

3) Do skirmishers derive any additional benefit from going prone?

Prone equates to cover.

4) Skirmishers do not have to evade when charged by enemy skirmishers - but do they have the option if the owning player wishes?

Yes.

4) When charged by close-order troops, skirmishers must evade (and test for Elephants)
Is this considered to be their movement of the turn, or a bonus move as in maintaining minimum distance? Can they go prone in their new position (as per Retire)?


Evading is their movement for the turn.

DB
Post Reply