Consolidation and Halftracks

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
Forst
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 11:13 am

Consolidation and Halftracks

Post by Forst »

Is it possible to bring all 3 platoons of a company on table in the same turn using the consolidate (armour) function if they are all mounted in halftracks (afv's)?

Ie could I pay for 3 armour consolidate orders in the same turn to bring on three separate panzer Grenadier platoons in Hanomags behind a secured hill objective?

Or does the first one trigger the "restriction*" as the coy is no longer entirely in reserve? The remainder then using baseline deployment or reserves!

Could you bring on an an attached tank platoon as well? As a 4th order.
j1mwallace
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:10 am

Re: Consolidation and Halftracks

Post by j1mwallace »

We had a similar question 2 weeks ago and the general consensus was no . Unless there is a road connection . Page 35 is the reference we used . No road or track = no AFV Consolidation .
Forst
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 11:13 am

Re: Consolidation and Halftracks

Post by Forst »

There was defiantly a road, so afv option per day is valid, it's just how many platoons can you deploy from the same coy in the same turn at what cost?
j1mwallace
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:10 am

Re: Consolidation and Halftracks

Post by j1mwallace »

I would have said in that case . pay 4 points . deploy 4 platoons
OverTheHill
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2022 10:45 pm

Re: Consolidation and Halftracks

Post by OverTheHill »

Good question!
if we follow the example of the RESERVES! action, motorised infantry are classed with AFV supports (and they could just as easily be in trucks as Hanomags). Once the transports have deployed then presumably the infantry can dismount, with highest of 2D6 movement, but cannot fire, under the CONSOLIDATION! action. Being motorised i.e. "Armour" supports there is nothing to prevent additional transports being deployed from the same panzer grenadier co. at the cost of additional order(s). I'm not even sure it would have to be the same objective/terrain feature! But clearly there would have to be some judgement as to how far from the road/track the transport was allowed to deploy (some features/hills are pretty big!)
Post Reply