Rallying AVF

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
gbaylis1957
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:56 am

Rallying AVF

Post by gbaylis1957 »

We had a situation where a platoon of hetzers were on the table edge having been forced to retreat after a arty attsck.

One was ok, the other unit was suppressed with 3 shock. A 3d6 rally was rolled but all the die were less than 4.

This meant that the unit had to retreat, which meant it went off table and was lost.

However, my opponent insisted that this meant that both units had to retreat even though one had no shock.

They were his units and I felt that only the suppressed unit would retreat, not both.

Should both have gone, or just the suppressed one?

Thanks Graham

Ps any idea what the reasoning is behind the retreat or take a shock rule is (from an arty strike) seems very harsh. Does it apply whether or not any shock is received by the way, or only if there was no shock?

User avatar
DCRBrown
Posts: 805
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Rallying AVF

Post by DCRBrown »

G57,

In these situations I would suggest that the Rally Action is given to just one section of the platoon, the suppressed tank, not the whole platoon. This then leaves the possibility of the other Hetzer being issued an Action of its own.

However in your situation only the suppressed Hezter should Retreat, as the unit as a whole is not suppressed, just the one section.

Artillery: It's deliberately harsh! ;)
Artillery strikes should have a reasonable impact on the game and be capable of breaking up enemy attacks, which the additional shock or retreat rules tires to reflect. Units would often fall back after an artillery strike as they didn't want to hang around for Round 2! :shock:
The rule applies regardless of the amount of shock taken by a unit under the beaten zone.

DB

gbaylis1957
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Rallying AVF

Post by gbaylis1957 »

Thanks David. Quite happy with this, just one question on the effects of arty, do units in all forms of cover take the extra shock (or retreat) even ones in bunkers and in buas?

User avatar
DCRBrown
Posts: 805
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Rallying AVF

Post by DCRBrown »

Nope. The phrase "in open/cover" refers to the actual Cover definition, see Section 10.2 p45.

So it does not apply to units in buildings, bunkers, BUAs, etc.

DB

gbaylis1957
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Rallying AVF

Post by gbaylis1957 »

Makes perfect sense. Thank you

Post Reply