Smoke and ambush

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
gbaylis1957
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:56 am

Smoke and ambush

Post by gbaylis1957 »

We had a situation where am enemy unit was in a bua on ambush, when smoke was deployed right in front of it. A unit was then told to move through the smoke to invest the bua.

As los was blocked no ambush could be triggered, but then again the attacking unit cannot move into the bua because of the presence of the enemy.

Would a close assault occur automatically in such instances, would the attacking unit stop at 2 inches as normal and receive the ambush fire, even though los is blocked, perhaps an obscured die being needed, or what.

Sorry this is down to my love of smoke...

Intrigued as to the right answer here and would really appreciate the authors ruling.

nikjen66
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:20 pm
Location: Cambridge UK

Re: Smoke and ambush

Post by nikjen66 »

Morning! From previous comments about ambushes by Dave they are always sprung if the phasing players units moves into terrain occupied by them. This occurs even if the non-phasing player doesn’t want to or is out of orders. The phasing unit simply moves back as required and the ambushes are placed in the terrain (and can shoot if there are orders remaining for them).

That’s my interpretation anyway.

gbaylis1957
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Smoke and ambush

Post by gbaylis1957 »

Thanks, but what about the smoke. Would it not be better to assume that the defender is surprised by all those men bursting out of the smoke and just go into close combat?

Forst
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 11:13 am

Re: Smoke and ambush

Post by Forst »

My reading is the attackers go though the smoke and try and enter the bua. The ambush is sprung. If the ambushed have a react order played, they immediately fire at close range ( i would let the men the smoke count as in cover so use a spotting dice!). The attackers then withdraw 2" back into the smoke, and halt.

if no react orders available then no fire is made. They are still 2 " apart at the end.

You could then make a company order to attack again! And the defenders can only react once so they could get into melee with no shooting if they fired earlier.

The react order represents the ambush standing too in anticipation of something coming through the smoke. The fall back the shock of stumbling over troops they hadn't located.

User avatar
DCRBrown
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Smoke and ambush

Post by DCRBrown »

G1975,

Smoke doesn't prevent the triggering of an ambush.

As soon as an enemy unit arrive within 2" of a unit in ambush then the ambush is sprung. Most of the time this will be to the advantage of the ambusher. On a few occasions it may be a disadvantage and this is one.

The ambush is sprung. The opponent's troops are moved back 2" from the BUA. If smoke is still in effect and blocking LOS then no react fire is possible, at this point.

DB

gbaylis1957
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Smoke and ambush

Post by gbaylis1957 »

Many thanks for the ruling here David, very important to get the authors decision in cases like this. Thanks again.

JUST LOVE THE RULES....

Graham

Post Reply