Question about combat results

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
TheDutchGuy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:26 pm

Question about combat results

Post by TheDutchGuy »

I'm a bit of a newby when it comes to Lard rules sets, so apologies if the answer to this question is obvious to the veterans.

When a formation is attacked in the front and rear and loses the ensuing combat by 2+ kills, they'll have to withdraw at a speed of 1" per point of shock (as seen on page 60). With the path to their rear occupied, in which direction do they fall back? Would they fall back to the flank?
Another possibility is following the rules from page 61, '7.6.3. withdrawing due to shock', what would mean the unit is destroyed, but that seems a bit harsh.

Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 1690
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 7:50 am

Re: Question about combat results

Post by Richard »

Morning DutchGuy. Fear not, we are here to help!

If they are attacked both in the rear and front the Group will simply be destroyed on any withdraw result. If they were attacked from the flank and front (or flank and rear) they could retire anywhere in the 90 degree 'space' opposite the two attacks.

Hope that helps.

Rich

TheDutchGuy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:26 pm

Re: Question about combat results

Post by TheDutchGuy »

Thanks for the explanation Rich :)
This makes covering ones rear even more important than I thought!

Many thanks,

Guy

Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 1690
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 7:50 am

Re: Question about combat results

Post by Richard »

That has always been my stance in life.

Rich

Post Reply