Foederated / Roman style/ firing

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
Forst
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 11:13 am

Foederated / Roman style/ firing

Post by Forst »

Troops with Roman Style can fire on drill activations, but they also mob and act like non Roman warriors which can move/fire, and melee on activation. (As per faq)

Which takes precidence? Ie can they choose mode, and fire on the way in like other germans, (as one activation) or must they use drill to fire so 2 activations (or 3 if fire twice).

They will also get advantage of defensive fire on sigma activated fire in opponents turn?

User avatar
Captain Reid
Posts: 828
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:49 am
Location: Pengwern and Pebylls
Contact:

Re: Foederated / Roman style/ firing

Post by Captain Reid »

The FAQ clarifies that they may indeed use signa to throw missiles in the enemy's Activation, although it's pretty clear from their rule that they may do that anyway.

As to whether they must always use signa cards to throw missiles, I'd say yes (probably).

Although the Roman Style rule on p.75 specifies they may spend a card to throw javelins either before contacting an enemy or before an enemy contacts them, and so in theory so long as they don't attempt contact they could throw 'for free' like other non-Drilled Groups, it's much simpler to presume they must always use signa to throw their javelins.
The climate crisis has already been solved. We already have all the facts and solutions. All we have to do is to wake up and change. - Greta Thunberg

The Saindoux Campaign, French & Indian War blog

Cerro Manteca, Peninsular War blog.

Post Reply