Page 1 of 1

Using command dice in any order?

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 11:53 pm
by Tom Ballou
You can use your command dice in any order correct? For example (assuming you have all the dice you need) an unbuttoned tank uses 1 die to move from cover and auto acquires a tank in the open. Then uses a die to aim, a die to shoot, then use another die to move back out of sight.

I believe it’s possible, but it’s not directly stated.

Re: Using command dice in any order?

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 2:56 am
by Truscott Trotter
Yes indeed it is not only possible such tactics are encouraged! :D

Re: Using command dice in any order?

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 9:13 am
by Archdukek
Hi Tom,
See page 23 in the rule book (page 24 of the PDF) under Activating Your Tank:

"At the start of the tank's activation, the player rolls the Command Dice and will then play all, some or none of the dice in any sequence they wish."

Seems clear to me that you can play your dice as you suggest which would be good tactics in some cases as TT says. :D

John

Re: Using command dice in any order?

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 6:50 am
by Greg Bradfield
100% correct.

What this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4m9X8VrzxE Here Rich and Nic play a game at The Beasts of War HQ and in it you will get a nice idea of how the dice are used. The only thing that needs to line up is you have to have a tank acquired and aiming at it before you can fire then again you need to be loaded before you fire but that is obvious. Another thing to remember is moving loses your aim and some people what to fire move and fire again but don't realize they need to aim once again.

Re: Using command dice in any order?

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 9:19 am
by Seret
Greg Bradfield wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 6:50 am
Another thing to remember is moving loses your aim and some people what to fire move and fire again but don't realize they need to aim once again.
Another easy one to miss is that you also lose your aim if the target moves. Most commonly this occurs when someone is a bit excited because they can get two shots off in one activation. They fire the first and get equal hits and saves, so the target reverses 1d6. This means the firer loses their aim, so unless they've got another aim dice up their sleeve they can't take their second shot.