Using command dice in any order?

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
User avatar
Tom Ballou
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:00 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Using command dice in any order?

Post by Tom Ballou » Wed May 15, 2019 11:53 pm

You can use your command dice in any order correct? For example (assuming you have all the dice you need) an unbuttoned tank uses 1 die to move from cover and auto acquires a tank in the open. Then uses a die to aim, a die to shoot, then use another die to move back out of sight.

I believe it’s possible, but it’s not directly stated.
--Tom

Never drive a car when you're dead
--Tom Waits "Telephone Call From Istanbul"

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 5869
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Using command dice in any order?

Post by Truscott Trotter » Thu May 16, 2019 2:56 am

Yes indeed it is not only possible such tactics are encouraged! :D

Archdukek
Posts: 4367
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Using command dice in any order?

Post by Archdukek » Thu May 16, 2019 9:13 am

Hi Tom,
See page 23 in the rule book (page 24 of the PDF) under Activating Your Tank:

"At the start of the tank's activation, the player rolls the Command Dice and will then play all, some or none of the dice in any sequence they wish."

Seems clear to me that you can play your dice as you suggest which would be good tactics in some cases as TT says. :D

John

User avatar
Greg Bradfield
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 6:09 am

Re: Using command dice in any order?

Post by Greg Bradfield » Fri May 17, 2019 6:50 am

100% correct.

What this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4m9X8VrzxE Here Rich and Nic play a game at The Beasts of War HQ and in it you will get a nice idea of how the dice are used. The only thing that needs to line up is you have to have a tank acquired and aiming at it before you can fire then again you need to be loaded before you fire but that is obvious. Another thing to remember is moving loses your aim and some people what to fire move and fire again but don't realize they need to aim once again.

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 3765
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Using command dice in any order?

Post by Seret » Fri May 17, 2019 9:19 am

Greg Bradfield wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 6:50 am
Another thing to remember is moving loses your aim and some people what to fire move and fire again but don't realize they need to aim once again.
Another easy one to miss is that you also lose your aim if the target moves. Most commonly this occurs when someone is a bit excited because they can get two shots off in one activation. They fire the first and get equal hits and saves, so the target reverses 1d6. This means the firer loses their aim, so unless they've got another aim dice up their sleeve they can't take their second shot.

Post Reply