Basing Artillery

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Steve Nagy

Basing Artillery

Post by Steve Nagy »

Hello. I am new to this game, and am curious about how to base my artillery. If I recall correctly, the rules say the artillery frontage should be proportioal to the Infantry frontage, but I don't recall seeing a ratio. Should an arty btty cover 50% of an Inf bttn in line? 75%?, 100%? 125%? Can someone pls give me some guidance on what the norm is? Thanks in advance.

Steve N.

Archdukek

Re: Basing Artillery

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Steve,
I’m not sure that there is a norm, it will depend on how players have based their armies. However, I’d suggest looking for the battery frontage to be around 75%-100% of an infantry battalion’s frontage would be reasonable. Depending on the circumstances artillery batteries were usually deployed with some 20 yards between guns which would give a 6 gun battery a frontage of around 130 yards while an 8 gun one would cover about 180 yards. This could be compressed to around half that if necessary.

My own 28mm standard infantry battalions have a frontage in line of 200mm. My gun models are based on 60mm square bases and I use 2 to represent a battery normally, inserting an empty 60mm base between them to give me a frontage of 180mm for the battery. That can be omitted if space is tight.

Hope that helps,

John

Steve Nagy

Post by Steve Nagy »

That's great. Thanks for the info, John!

nikjen66

Post by nikjen66 »

Morning Steve. We play in 15mm and base our artillery on 30-40mm frontage per Gun with Batteries between 3&4 guns. This gives a frontage of around 120mm -160mm per battery, and a little more for those big Russian batteries. Our Infantry are 30/40mm frontage per base/company dependant on nation. So a French Battalion in line is 120mm -180mm a Russian one 120mm to 160mm.