Charge within 15cm (9)

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
bellebsc
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:57 am

Charge within 15cm (9)

Post by bellebsc »

Hello all.

Hope you can settle this debate.

A cav unit is about to charge the flank of an enemy unit.

A cav unit's far right of its front base is within 9" of an enemy unit but as we measure the range for charging at the centre of the front base the cavalry is actually 12" So we use our charge bonus to wheel it towards the enemy unit and is now dead centre within the 9" of the target.

Now with that in mind can the enemy target wheel as the cav unit centre was 12" away before it wheeled or in my interpretation the charge bonus wheel allows you to manoeuvre first ( a new frontage) then declare it's charge therefore within 9"?

Many thanks

Ricky

Archdukek
Posts: 5363
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Charge within 15cm (9)

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Ricky,
I disagree with your interpretation. My reading of the Charge Procedure on pages 39 and 40 is that the first thing you do is declare your charge and the defender then declares his reaction, both occurring before any troops are moved. So the charge process begins before any wheel and the defender’s reaction is based on the position of the chargers at the beginning.

Your troops are taking time to get into position which gives the defender the opportunity to react.

John

bellebsc
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:57 am

Re: Charge within 15cm (9)

Post by bellebsc »

Thanks John.

Post Reply