Take the Ground - in Woods

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
MarcusColenious
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:16 pm

Take the Ground - in Woods

Post by MarcusColenious »

So four (4) infantry regiments from the same brigade are charging up a hill to get to a lone infantry regiment in dense woods. The lead unit charging unit (moving at half speed for dense woods) can touch the enemy unit, and stops at 3" away with a supporting unit to the right, left, and behind. Because the lead, right, and left regiments moved in the woods to get to 3" away, they each take a formation change to see if they are unformed. The lead unit makes its formation roll as does the left regiment, however the right does not.

Rolls are made for the charge combat with the attacker getting a Press On/Take Ground result. The attacker takes the ground and moves up 4" to where the defender was.

Question: Does the attacking units that were NOT unformed already, have to roll an unformed test when Taking the Ground as they are moving in dense woods?

This may sound odd, because they already did when entering the woods, however, if the defender was behind a fence (or wall), they could have crossed the fence and would have to take a formation change, AND moving in the woods requires a formation test. The attacker could have gotten a HALT and FIRE result, which means they would not have moved any more in the woods. I personally think the additional movement forces a formation change.

Dan, do you have any thoughts on this?

Archdukek
Posts: 5361
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Take the Ground - in Woods

Post by Archdukek »

I’d be inclined to say no, you don’t need to test again. The units don’t actually “stop” at the 3” point, that’s just a rule convention to allow us to work out the effects of the charge procedure. In reality the units would be continuing their initial movement in the woods for which they have already tested.
Crossing an additional obstacle like a fence or wall is different since it would be a new event which could disrupt them and which they haven’t previously tested for.

John

MarcusColenious
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:16 pm

Re: Take the Ground - in Woods

Post by MarcusColenious »

Thanks @Archdukek. I appreciate the help.

Now that you have considered the Take the Ground option, what if the unit presses on (2d6 inches, no charge) or pursues (3d6 inches, with charge). Both of these options require the winning regiment to move in the woods, just like the Take the Ground option. Based on your comment, no unformed test would need to be made for them either. Because they already tested, and do not have to test again. Do you agree?

The rules say, "Take a Formation test, As soon as a unit charges, moves or changes formation..."

Archdukek
Posts: 5361
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Take the Ground - in Woods

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Marcus,
The sentence in brackets at the end of point 1 under “The Formation Test” on page 47 which you quote gives the answer to your question. It specifically says that you “Only test once per turn for movement within the same area of rough terrain.”

John

MarcusColenious
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:16 pm

Re: Take the Ground - in Woods

Post by MarcusColenious »

Good call John,

Totally missed it!!!

Marcus

Post Reply