Reforming Skirmisher and Fog of War

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
MarcusColenious
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:16 pm

Reforming Skirmisher and Fog of War

Post by MarcusColenious »


Can a skirmisher unit reform behind a Fog of War card?

If yes, can the Fog of War card be a Phantom card?


Archdukek
Posts: 5208
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Reforming Skirmisher and Fog of War

Post by Archdukek »

Since I don’t use Fog of War cards this situation has never arisen. For what it’s worth my take would be that since skirmishers can only reform behind a friendly close order unit, you would need to place that unit on the table from its Fog of War card when the skirmishers fall back behind it.
They certainly couldn’t reform behind a Phantom FOW card since there is no friendly unit there for them to form up on.

John

MarcusColenious
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:16 pm

Re: Reforming Skirmisher and Fog of War

Post by MarcusColenious »

Thanks @Archdukek.

To clarify, units under the Fog of War (Fow) card can be in any formation, which would include Close Order. So being able to reform behind a FoW card seem logical, but wanted to see what other people who use FoW cards thought.

As for the Phantom FoW card, I can see both sides... I think the intent of the rules is to fool your opponent as to where your forces are and to take fewer casualties when closing from a great distance (with the -2 firing modifier).

Post Reply