Skirmisher Firing

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
joe.harrison89
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:39 pm

Skirmisher Firing

Post by joe.harrison89 »

In PC every skirmisher base gets a casualty die, unlike GDA which has 2,3or 4 casualty die for small , medium and large units.

So in PC a skirmisher unit could have 5 casualty dice or even more.

My question is would this be down to the longer rifled ranges in the ACW? Or some other factors?

Archdukek
Posts: 5366
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Skirmisher Firing

Post by Archdukek »

I have always assumed that it is a reflection of the better, more accurate weapons and more training as skirmishers. In the Napoleonic period only a part of the unit formed the actual skirmish line, I believe an ACW skirmish line would have more men in it often.

John

joe.harrison89
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:39 pm

Re: Skirmisher Firing

Post by joe.harrison89 »

True, but these are also brigade skirmish screens which would see roughly equivalent numbers of men.

The scales in the two rules are different, of course, 1:20 and 1:33 and so this accounts for the additional bases, I'm guessing. But probably not the additional casualty dice.

So it could be the additional range of the ACW rifled muskets or it could have been decided that the skirmishers were too powerful in PC and this was altered for the next release, which was GDA.

Hopefully, David will see this and let us know😀

User avatar
DCRBrown
Posts: 810
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Skirmisher Firing

Post by DCRBrown »

It's both!

First, the GdA skirmish system is a refinement on the PC mechanism to suite the Napoleonic period and secondly, the increased CD totals reflect the differing nature of skirmishing in the two periods, better armaments combined with deploying in looser formation or a single rank, see Skirmish Line, p19.

DB

joe.harrison89
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:39 pm

Re: Skirmisher Firing

Post by joe.harrison89 »

Yes, thought as much.

Thanks for answering 😀

Post Reply