Machine Gun Bonus - card

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
topi
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:54 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by topi » Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:17 pm

Machine gun bonus card says:
When the card is dealt the player may select one machine gun or one unit of mortars to fire immediately.
Does this mean that the mg will fire with 1d6, or with full actions (3d6)? My gut feeling would be full actions, but usually cards which allow full actions say so.

EvilGinger
Posts: 990
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:01 am

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by EvilGinger » Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:25 pm

I tend to assume its with a full bonus action (3d6) I certainly play it that way when the same card comes up in M&B also one d6 on the IABSM chart is some what pointless I have found.

:evil: Ginger
Dark lord at large....

Archdukek
Posts: 4768
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by Archdukek » Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:35 pm

The MG or mortar fires with full effect. Essentially it's a bonus activation for the MG selected.

John

JimLeCat
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:57 pm
Location: Durham, England

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by JimLeCat » Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:37 pm

Exactly what John said - and very nasty it is too!

Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 1634
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 7:50 am

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by Richard » Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:43 pm

Absolutely, it is full effect.

Rich

Craig Ambler
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:21 pm

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by Craig Ambler » Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:15 am

One of those small choices that can have a big effect and do well to show the uncertainty of WWII actions.

Mind you I am playing more M&B and it's even worse there!

Craig

EvilGinger
Posts: 990
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:01 am

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by EvilGinger » Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:30 pm

I will second that can quite make or ruin your day depending on whether it you that gets the card or you opponent.

:evil: Ginger
Dark lord at large....

User avatar
Tom Ballou
Posts: 568
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:00 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by Tom Ballou » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:10 pm

FWIW, I play 2 bonus cards for a side with MGs that are belt fed and only a single bonus card for box or clip fed MMGs. This helps the side with more modern MMGs.
--Tom

Never drive a car when you're dead
--Tom Waits "Telephone Call From Istanbul"

mickscales
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 7:55 am
Location: Hexham, Northumberland, England

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by mickscales » Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:00 pm

Good idea Tom - might borrow that as an in-house optional rule. It could make those Jerry MGs even more fearsome though!

Mick

EvilGinger
Posts: 990
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:01 am

Re: Machine Gun Bonus - card

Post by EvilGinger » Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:36 pm

giving the Germans one bonus fire card is bad enough!

:evil: Ginger
Dark lord at large....

Post Reply