Noobie question about actions

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
acctingman
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:49 pm

Noobie question about actions

Post by acctingman » Mon May 20, 2019 8:49 pm

So, let's say I have a US Infantry platoon on the table. 3 Rifle squads, a BAR team and let's say a bazooka team. I draw a Big Man 3. He can give that platoon 3 actions.

action #1......1st squad advances up
action #2.....2nd squad advances up
action #3....BAR team lays down covering fire up ahead

Do I have the basic understanding down?

Also, where in the rules does it state how many actions a platoon/team gets when their card is drawn?

Archdukek
Posts: 4568
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Noobie question about actions

Post by Archdukek » Mon May 20, 2019 10:14 pm

You've got the basic idea, but the wrong terminology. A Big Man doesn't give the platoon 3 "actions", what he can do is use one of his Command Initiatives to activate a section or weapons team within the platoon. That section or team can then carry out a number of "actions" depending on its quality and number of men in the section as set out in the table on Unit Actions on page 18. They can then carry out the actions listed on page 19.

Section 1.2.1 and 1.2.2 cover what happens when a platoon card is drawn. In that case all or the sections or weapon teams not yet activated by a Big Man are activated. They then have the same number of actions as they would have had if activated by a Big Man as set out in the same Unit Actions table on page 18.

Note that the table on page 18 is a generic one. Individual nationalities have their own Unit Actions table later in the rules or in supplements.

John

acctingman
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:49 pm

Re: Noobie question about actions

Post by acctingman » Tue May 21, 2019 12:42 am

Thank you John

Playing my first game (solo) this week and I'm just making sure I have the basics down.

Post Reply