Questions after a game

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
User avatar
pman
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:51 pm

Questions after a game

Post by pman »

Hi all
We continued our "Saipan" PSC, and even though we had a third guy flipping through the rule book while gaming, a lot of questions arose:

1. We use a QRS where the Bad-things-happen table have an addition re AFV with three lines: -Immobilised/sight damaged,- KO,ed and -Leader vehicle KO,ed. Do you know where the origins is to that ?. In the rules you only use the support lines i BTH table. It adds flavour with more details re AFV's but it does not fit with a vehicle thats abandoned due to shock so its not complete

2. Blue team shoots from the open into orchard at red team (4" inside orchard) Red teams get cover from the orchard. Next phase Red team shoots from orchard at Blue team in the open. Does it affect cover for blue team that Red team shoots through a bit of orchard and out in the open ?

3. Can you move through one of your own teams/squads to assault ? As we read the rules you can walk around a corner or terrain and when your within 4" you are i CC, there is no declaration or requirement of visibility when move starts, right ??

4.Re Covering fire we were surprised that it is not mentioned as a thing thats gone at turn end, barrage, overwatch and so on but not covering fire. Is it a typo or what can the reason be ??

5.What happens when a support weapon gets assaulted ? In our case an AT gun

6. Just to be sure, if a squad is killed do you roll both for squad killed and JL killed, and the same for vehicles with JL thats KO,ed ?

regards

Peter

Archdukek
Posts: 5279
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Questions after a game

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Peter,
1. That table in your QRS has incorporated elements from the Big CoC supplement which only applies when a platoon of AFVs are being fielded as a separate platoon in their own right. They should be ignored in a standard game where an AFV is being fielded as support.

2. No cover applies when firing from out of an orchard against troops in the open. It’s assumed that the attackers can see their targets easily. Of course you and your opponent are free to amend that if you think the terrain in question warrants it, such as firing out from within a wood or patch of jungle which has a lot of secondary growth at the edges.

3. Yes you can move through one of your own teams to assault an enemy. You are correct that the enemy does not need to be visible at the start of the assault move.

4. Covering Fire is already time limited and only extends into the next enemy phase which could be the first phase at the start of a new Turn but doesn’t often happen.

5. As in any close combat the defenders get a dice for each crew member of the assaulted support weapon who are assumed to be using their personal weapons.

6. If a squad is killed you only roll for the loss of the squad. If the JL is killed at the same time that would trigger a separate roll. Same for a vehicle. If it’s merely KO and abandoned you roll for the loss of the support, if it blows up then the JL commanding it is killed thus triggering a second roll for his loss.

Hope that helps.

John

User avatar
pman
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:51 pm

Re: Questions after a game

Post by pman »

Thanks for fast and precise answers.

some bonus questions:

7-If you shoot at eg a squad/team and something else (squad,team etc) is within 4", can they be hit as well ?. We couldn't find it in the rules, only leaders etc

8-Shooting smoke with a light mortar, do you just place the smoke and dice for scatter, or do you roll to hit (so you can actually miss)and scatter ?

9-Can a SL on the ground give orders to a LVT (driver and gunner, crew in transport). And can a SL inside a LVT give orders to infantry units out side

regards

Peter

Archdukek
Posts: 5279
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Questions after a game

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Peter,
Glad my answers helped. As to your next questions:

7. See section 8.3 on page 33 for your answer. When firing you target a specific enemy Team but any other Team within 4” of which is visible and within the same cover is potentially liable to be hit. You divide the number of successful hits across all adjacent Teams before rolling for the effect of those hits.

8. The rules for light mortars firing smoke are in 9.4.1. You simply place the smoke marker and then dice for scatter as in Table 8 page 43, there is no roll to hit. Not all light mortars can fire smoke and some have limited ammunition, it will say in the army lists.

9. Interesting question. My understanding is that LVTs came in various forms so the answer depends to some degree on the role it’s performing. As a general rule infantry Senior Leaders cannot order AFVs since they are not within the chain of command so when an LVT is pretending to be a tank then I would say the answer is no. However, when it’s being used to transport infantry then I would suggest you treat it as a half-track which means that any Leader, Senior or Junior, being carried in it can activate its crew as allowed in section 11.2.1.

An infantry SL being transported in a vehicle can give orders to infantry units outside if they are within command range and within his chain of command. You may need to consider if the advanced rule on visibility on page 70 is relevant should you be using it.

Regards,
John

Levi the Ox
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:57 pm

Re: Questions after a game

Post by Levi the Ox »

Archdukek's got your answers! Just have one follow-up note:
Archdukek wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 7:11 pm
As a general rule infantry Senior Leaders cannot order AFVs since they are not within the chain of command so when an LVT is pretending to be a tank then I would say the answer is no. However, when it’s being used to transport infantry then I would suggest you treat it as a half-track which means that any Leader, Senior or Junior, being carried in it can activate its crew as allowed in section 11.2.1.
This is probably as much to do with the difficulty of communicating with the crew as it is any sort of strict organizational scheme, as it applies even to the integral transport vehicles of motor and mechanized infantry units. The leader needs to be riding aboard a vehicle to activate it.

User avatar
pman
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:51 pm

Re: Questions after a game

Post by pman »

Thanks Archduke

Yes the LVT's comes in various forms, this is a transport bought as support, but comes with driver and gunner. We will decide how to do it before our next game.

regards

Peter

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7990
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Questions after a game

Post by Truscott Trotter »

In that case I would allow the SL to activate the driver gunner when aboard the LVT after that it becomes an uncommanded AFV and activates on a 1, so either driver or gunner is activated.same as a halftrack with driver and gunner aboard.
FWIW LVT with turrets should just be treated as a tank as it would have its own JL presumably?

User avatar
pman
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:51 pm

Re: Questions after a game

Post by pman »

That was what we did.

In the last game the howitzer version of the LVT took quite a beating before it became immobilised with sight damaged,we used the Big Chain version of the BTH tabel re AFV's but we should probably have used the support version of the table, a little tough on the USMC.

We're really enjoying the Saipan PSC and gathering tips, tricks and mechanics for the Guadalcanal PSC we are working on. Nice to have an active community to help along

regards

Peter

Post Reply