Post game issues

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
IanP
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 5:58 am

Post game issues

Post by IanP » Fri Mar 25, 2016 4:11 am

Hi guys.

Last night we played a (multi player) battle, and a few questions came up.

1) RB player wished to move 2D6 through terrain, then form shieldwall (with Levy).
I had assumed that if you formed shield wall in a given turn, then the movement limit would affect the whole turn.
However on re reading the rule, I can't see any reason why you can't move, then change or form formation (two or more activations of course).

2) Can you use 'Fear' while in contact with the enemy? The card just says within 6", but again I had assumed within 6" but not actually locked in combat.
If allowable, should this have to be applied to the group in contact?

3) Zone of Influence. Page 40 says you can not move into and out of ZOI in the same turn without attacking the group.
If you start inside ZOI of one group, could you move out, then attack a different group. In this case they were to the flank of the second group, so not affected by their ZOI. I feel this is against the spirit of the rule.

4) Shock. I think I know the answer to this one, but to confirm.
Excess shock precludes a group joining a formation. However, excess shock does not seem to affect a groups ability to remain as part of a formation that they are already a part of, including shieldwall.

Finally, as we are playing a multi player campaign, with the possibility of RB players attacking each other (or barbarians), what is the consensus re levy taking part in offensive actions (raids and/or battles). The blurb at the start of the rules says the Saxons would have left any levy at home, by the same logic the RB levy should probably just be for defence. Maybe an exception for reconquering lost territory?

Regards
Ian P.

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Post game issues

Post by Derek H » Fri Mar 25, 2016 5:53 am

IanP wrote:Hi guys.

Last night we played a (multi player) battle, and a few questions came up.

1) RB player wished to move 2D6 through terrain, then form shieldwall (with Levy).
I had assumed that if you formed shield wall in a given turn, then the movement limit would affect the whole turn.
However on re reading the rule, I can't see any reason why you can't move, then change or form formation (two or more activations of course).

2) Can you use 'Fear' while in contact with the enemy? The card just says within 6", but again I had assumed within 6" but not actually locked in combat.
If allowable, should this have to be applied to the group in contact?

3) Zone of Influence. Page 40 says you can not move into and out of ZOI in the same turn without attacking the group.
If you start inside ZOI of one group, could you move out, then attack a different group. In this case they were to the flank of the second group, so not affected by their ZOI. I feel this is against the spirit of the rule.

4) Shock. I think I know the answer to this one, but to confirm.
Excess shock precludes a group joining a formation. However, excess shock does not seem to affect a groups ability to remain as part of a formation that they are already a part of, including shieldwall.

Finally, as we are playing a multi player campaign, with the possibility of RB players attacking each other (or barbarians), what is the consensus re levy taking part in offensive actions (raids and/or battles). The blurb at the start of the rules says the Saxons would have left any levy at home, by the same logic the RB levy should probably just be for defence. Maybe an exception for reconquering lost territory?

Regards
Ian P.
1) Yes, you can change formation from mass into shieldwall after moving.
2) Yes. Fear is a non-suited card and can be played at any time. You can choose to play it on any enemy group within 6" (you may wish to house rule that it has to be a group incontact with the group to which your champion is attached)
3) I'm not at all clear what situation your envisaging here.
4) Remember that receiving excess shock always results in movement, then see p.54 "If a Group within a Formation is obliged to withdraw due to excess Shock the rest of the Formation may retire with it, maintaining its Formation, so long as the Group retiring does not fall back more than 2”, otherwise that part of the Formation is broken."

The blurb about Saxons not bringing their levy is just a justification of why there are no Saxon levy in the game. There's nothing said anywhere about British levy staying at home, so I'd allow them to take part in offensive operations.
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Post game issues

Post by Derek H » Fri Mar 25, 2016 5:59 am

Duplicated post
Last edited by Derek H on Fri Mar 25, 2016 8:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Post game issues

Post by Derek H » Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:01 am

3) Zone of Influence. Page 40 says you can not move into and out of ZOI in the same turn without attacking the group.
If you start inside ZOI of one group, could you move out, then attack a different group. In this case they were to the flank of the second group, so not affected by their ZOI. I feel this is against the spirit of the rule.
Image

I can see no problem with A leaving C's zone of control to attack B for example.
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

IanP
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 5:58 am

Re: Post game issues

Post by IanP » Fri Mar 25, 2016 7:49 am

Thanks for the replies.
Similar to the diagram, except imagine that B was not in front of A, but much further off to the side, to A's right. A and B did not have mutual ZOI, only A and C did.

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Post game issues

Post by Derek H » Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:31 am

Not against rules. "Spirit of the rules" is up to you and your opponent to agree.
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

User avatar
TroubleAtTheMill
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: Post game issues

Post by TroubleAtTheMill » Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:45 am

Derek H wrote:Not against rules. "Spirit of the rules" is up to you and your opponent to agree.
Although there is a point that if you start wondering if something is against the spirit of the rules, it probably might be :D
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Post game issues

Post by Derek H » Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:01 am

TroubleAtTheMill wrote:Although there is a point that if you start wondering if something is against the spirit of the rules, it probably might be :D
But it's quite possible for reasonable people to disagree on that.
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

Post Reply