EVADE Card

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

EVADE Card

Post by john de terre neuve » Fri Apr 24, 2015 3:11 pm

Still a little unsure about this one card.

Do you evade facing the enemy or not?

Does the attacking formation need to chase the evading formation if the card has been played.

John

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: EVADE Card

Post by Derek H » Sat Apr 25, 2015 10:09 am

I'm not 100% sure about facing, though skirmishers evading wind up facing away from the enemy so I'd do the same thing for other troops using the Evade card.

And I'd certainly make the attacking troops chase by moving the full distance they rolled.
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: EVADE Card

Post by john de terre neuve » Sat Apr 25, 2015 8:28 pm

Interesting that could be quite calamitous for the defender if the attacker plays a carpe Diem card and catches the evader. I like it!

John

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: EVADE Card

Post by Derek H » Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:20 am

But if the attacker plays a Carpe Diem card then the defenders can't evade.
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: EVADE Card

Post by john de terre neuve » Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:42 am

I do not think so Derek. I do not have a card in front of me, but the rulebook says it stops enemy harassing or cavalry troops from evading.

John

JimLeCat
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:57 pm
Location: Durham, England

Re: EVADE Card

Post by JimLeCat » Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:00 pm

Hi John,

It's one of those recurring questions which I think Rich has never actually commented on (although I don't think anyone has directly asked him!). The rulebook does indeed specify that a Carpe Diem stops those troops who can normally evade from doing so. It is silent on whether an Evade still works. Most threads on the topic seem to conclude that the Evade still works for troops who could not evade, but there is no clear consensus on whether it still works for troops who could otherwise evade. If it is a game I was running, I would say that the Evade card works in all cases, but that's just my opinion.

As to how to evade, I would say treat the evade move as a normal move, that is the evader can either choose to take the whole move away from the charger and finish facing the other way, or they can choose to spend 1 dice to finish the evade still facing the charger (only if the charger moved for more than 1 dice of course!). The charger then moves up to their rolled move, so the evader has a choice between a higher chance of being caught, but facing the charger, or a better chance of getting away, but a risk of being caught in the rear.

Cheers,
Jim

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: EVADE Card

Post by Derek H » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:15 pm

Why do you think you should treat an evasion brought about by an Evade card any differently to an evasion brought about by another reason? It would just add complications.

I would treat an Evade as an evasion move, why would you treat it as a normal move?

The normal way to interpret Lardie rules is that Richard will specify when he wants something to be different - see Leaders who "withdraw" when charged rather than "evade" (p.48).

But I acknowledge that I might be wrong, and agree that an official ruling would be good.
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

JimLeCat
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:57 pm
Location: Durham, England

Re: EVADE Card

Post by JimLeCat » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:58 pm

Hi Derek,

Just because the card is called 'Evade' doesn't mean that it is the same thing as the evade move allowed for harassing troops, it's just a name. 'Goad' for instance would suggest to me that the target of the goading should rush forwards, not stand still and ignore an adjacent combat as the rules actually say.

The wording in the rules in this case actually says 'fall back' and 'evade backwards', so taken at face value I'm probably being punitive by saying that they need to lose some of their move to keep facing the chargers. 'Disengage' also says 'move 2D6 back' and the combat results can cause some significant moves backward, while still facing the enemy, so there are precedents as well.

I would agree that it would be good to get Rich to answer this one though. Maybe when he's recovered from Salute? ;^D

Cheers,
Jim

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: EVADE Card

Post by john de terre neuve » Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:29 pm

It really is too bad that we can not get a clear answer to what I would think is a pretty straight forward question.

John

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: EVADE Card

Post by Derek H » Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:44 am

Rich answered an email I sent him now you lot have motivated me to get working on the Dux FAQ and rules clarifications again.

The official answer is that troops evading using the Evade card end up facing away from the enemy, in the same formation as they started. They are prevented from evading if their opponent plays a Carpe Diem Card.

I'm probably about half way through said document (trying to dig the clarifications out of the Yahoo Group is hard work) and the plan is that it will be published as an official document when it's finished and after a final check over by Richard.

As I said above a good rule of thumb is if you have to choose between a number of rules interpretations take the simplest option. It will probably be right (though not always).
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

Post Reply