Dux Compendium - it's starting to get to That Time...
The link below is to the current draft of the rules clarifications section in the Compendium. Huge thanks to Derek Hodge for the initial compilation of these from Lardy Rich's answers on the various TFL discussion areas.
Notes in blue are where I or Derek have made a judgement call based on our best analysis of the rules, but haven't had a confirmation from Rich yet. Notes in red mean Rich has given conflicting answers (there's usually a note in blue with them).
Any comments and feedback is very welcome at this point.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/c572clclr7ezb ... 3.pdf?dl=0
The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica
- TroubleAtTheMill
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
- Location: Peterborough, UK
- Contact:
The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
- TroubleAtTheMill
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
- Location: Peterborough, UK
- Contact:
Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
Note re page references - Dxx = main rulebook, Rxx = Raiders
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
- TroubleAtTheMill
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
- Location: Peterborough, UK
- Contact:
Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
Just as an aside: while I’m very happy if this makes easier for people to play Dux, what I’m really looking for is people to read through it and go “no Mike, you’ve got that completely wrong”. Well, actually, ideally not that, but you know what I mean 

Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
-
- Posts: 57
- Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:39 pm
Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
Mike,
Thanks for all Derek's and your work on the Compendium.
Compendium Page 60
Rally (D30) - the effect of this card can be applied to Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry
D54 second paragraph states that Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry can never be rallied. It doesn't seem like the Rally card should be used to Rally Harassing Troops or Light Cavalry.
One for Rich to chime in on.
Looking forward to getting the Compendium.
Terry
Thanks for all Derek's and your work on the Compendium.
Compendium Page 60
Rally (D30) - the effect of this card can be applied to Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry
D54 second paragraph states that Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry can never be rallied. It doesn't seem like the Rally card should be used to Rally Harassing Troops or Light Cavalry.
One for Rich to chime in on.
Looking forward to getting the Compendium.
Terry
- TroubleAtTheMill
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
- Location: Peterborough, UK
- Contact:
Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
The actual rules say “ Nobles may rally Shock from Groups under their command, however Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry can never be rallied”
I think we have taken the view that “Nobles” applies to the whole sentence. But open to debate. Also the wording on page 30 does not restrict the Rally card: it simply says “Group or Formation”.
I think we have taken the view that “Nobles” applies to the whole sentence. But open to debate. Also the wording on page 30 does not restrict the Rally card: it simply says “Group or Formation”.
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
- TroubleAtTheMill
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
- Location: Peterborough, UK
- Contact:
Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
Actually, thinking about it some more, the second half of the sentence is actually an unnecessary complication, since (with the exception of Commanded Skirmishers in Raiders) no Harassing Troops can actually be commanded by a Noble.TroubleAtTheMill wrote: ↑Mon Feb 03, 2020 10:31 pmThe actual rules say “ Nobles may rally Shock from Groups under their command, however Harassing Troops and Light Cavalry can never be rallied”
I think we have taken the view that “Nobles” applies to the whole sentence. But open to debate. Also the wording on page 30 does not restrict the Rally card: it simply says “Group or Formation”.
I don't believe it was intended that a Rally card wouldn't work on Harassing Troops - there's only one in the deck, and frankly if your Harassing Troops Shock level is sufficiently important to you that you WANT to use it on them, my view is 'more power to you: go right ahead'.
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/
Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
If you are using the supplement ' Now That I What I Call Magic' you also have Priest, Bishops and other spiritual leaders that can rally shock from any unit.
You can't buy honour.
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:57 pm
- Location: Columbia, South Carolina
- Contact:
Re: The Compendium - rules clarifications - request for comment.
For what it's worth, I played my first game of DB last night. A couple of rules questions came up and I found the answer to two of them here. (Most notable, the fact that you can only order a unit to move once per turn and another one was about one of the cards).