Help Painting late WW2 tanks.

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Jimmy

Help Painting late WW2 tanks.

Post by Jimmy » Tue Dec 17, 2019 1:01 pm

Hello Folks, I have been painting my way through some US infantry for use in Chain of command and have got to the point that I should be painting up some vehicles.

I am an experienced painter but not so much in historical, leaving me knowing how I am going to paint them but not what colors I should paint them, any help with suggestions for colour schemes and which paints to pick up would be great.

The painting

I am looking for the main block colours used on the vehicles. Colours for small details I am happy to use from my existing range of paints. I have one of each vehicle listed in the main chain of command rule book to paint up if that helps. The army is painted in summer uniforms, so I doubt I will be painting any winter schemes.

Historical accuracy

From looking about I found different schemes represented for American Tanks and vehicles, some being the olive drab and others in camouflage, The painter in me would like to see a variety in the vehicles I have to paint and field in games. I would also like to have some semblance of historical accuracy. So here are some questions.

1. Would there of been vehicles of different colour patterns fielded together ?

2. Are there any colour patterns that are specific to different theaters or different platoons ?

3. Are there any colour patterns specific to certain vehicles ?

4. Are there any vehicles that couldn't be painted up in Olive drab ? (the go too colour if I cant think of anything better)

5. Are there any interesting schemes you know of that would fit into a late war force ?

Thanks folks

siggian

Re: Help Painting late WW2 tanks.

Post by siggian » Tue Dec 17, 2019 5:35 pm