does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica, Nellkyn

dirk bracke
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 11:52 am
Location: Gent - Belgium

does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by dirk bracke »

Hi

quid pinned and suppressed???? Can a pinned or suppressed unit hunker down???

cheers

Dirk

Archdukek
Posts: 5217
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Dirk,
Since a Suppressed unit can neither move or fire, I treat it as being hunkered down making itself as small a target as possible.
A Pinned unit can still fire but not move, so it isn’t hunkered down which would prevent firing. If subsequently activated before the pinned effect ends, then it could use an action to hunker down.

John

talagarz
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 10:36 am

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by talagarz »

Hi John,

since hunkering down is a movement action, and pinned down does not allowthis how kan it subsequently hunker down?

with regards,

Jan

Archdukek
Posts: 5217
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Jan,
Yes in the real world some movement is involved as troops Hunker Down by dropping into a prone position in their current location maximising the use of cover, but in the rules what Pinned does when it restricts movement is to prevent troops using a Move action to relocate to a better spot. Hugging the ground to make yourself a smaller target does not seem an unreasonable thing for troops who are pinned by enemy fire to do. It will limit their ability to return fire by using an action.

John

talagarz
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 10:36 am

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by talagarz »

Hi John,

It is indeed reasonable to get down on the ground when pinned, but when you are hunkered down you cannot fire, and when you are pinned you cannot move and so cannot get up....so you're suggestion means that when this happens you can fire, but the only movement you can do is get up to fire with one dice less from taking the action to get up? and when you've fire, you cannot get down again as this is again a movement action?

Jan

Archdukek
Posts: 5217
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Jan,
Units don’t have Movement dice, they get Action Dice which you can spend on various things listed in the table on page 14 including Hunkering Down, Moving 1D6 or Firing with 1D6. It would have been better to just use the term Actions rather than Action Dice as the author has down in more recent rules like IABSM version 3 which would help avoid this kind of confusion.

Hunkering down requires the use of an Action Dice, not a Movement Dice. It isn’t movement in terms of the rules. Movement in the rules means rolling 1 or more D6 to change the units physical location, not it’s tactical stance. When a unit is Pinned it cannot Move from its current location but it can still spend its Action Dice on other things Including Hunkering Down or Firing and switching between the two stances.

Does that explanation help?
John

talagarz
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 10:36 am

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by talagarz »

Hi John,

yes that is perfectly clear for me. it also means that entering a building is not one of the possible 3 movement die, which means we played it wrongly.

thank you guys!

dirk bracke
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 11:52 am
Location: Gent - Belgium

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by dirk bracke »

Hi John,
Seems odd but is entering a building not movement? I can understand tactical stance but even when you don't throw a die I'd consider this movement.
Cheers
Dirk

Archdukek
Posts: 5217
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Dirk,
Yes entering a building involves movement, just as hunkering down involves dropping to the ground. It takes time so therefore costs an action dice so it reduces the number of action dice you can spend to physically Move up to and into the building.

A unit with 3 actions can’t roll 3D6 and move that distance into the building without penalty. Instead it can only roll 2D6 to determine the distance it can physically move when attempting to enter a building.

John

dirk bracke
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 11:52 am
Location: Gent - Belgium

Re: does hunker down count as 1 of your movement dice?

Post by dirk bracke »

Hi John,
Jan made a different interpretation and I wanted to be sure.
cheers
Dirk

Post Reply