Company cmdr & FO

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica, Nellkyn

Post Reply
dirk bracke
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 11:52 am
Location: Gent - Belgium

Company cmdr & FO

Post by dirk bracke »

Can a cmpy cmdr activate a FO or medic while giving up how many dice doing this??

cheers Dirk

Archdukek
Posts: 4969
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Company cmdr & FO

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Dirk,
I don’t think so. An FO or Medic are only activated when their card is drawn as far as I can see. A Company Commander, like any other Big Man, can only activate a squad, weapons team or vehicle At the cost of 1 CI.
However, I can see an argument for allowing him to do so at the cost of a CI if he’s adjacent to the FO or Medic.

John

talagarz
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 10:36 am

Re: Company cmdr & FO

Post by talagarz »

Hi,

In the scenario it says that the FO is attached to the CO, which raised our question. So they start on the same blind, but when spotted or reveiled they start acting as 2 different entities only activating on their own card?

with regards

Jan

Archdukek
Posts: 4969
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Company cmdr & FO

Post by Archdukek »

You would normally expect the FO to stick close to the Company Commander since he is the Senior Big Man on the field.

Thinking about it a little more you could use the rule in the final bullet point in section 4.1.1 on page 11 to allow the Company CO to use all his CIs to activate the FO to take his turn out of the usual card sequence. Effectively treating the FO as a subordinate Big Man. That would strike a reasonable balance.

John

talagarz
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 10:36 am

Re: Company cmdr & FO

Post by talagarz »

Hi John

That's what I tought aswell. thank you for the clarification!

Post Reply