Search found 269 matches

by Quackstheking
Wed Aug 26, 2020 7:49 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Building a list from scratch
Replies: 5
Views: 966

Re: Building a list from scratch

Further to John’s excellent response, if a Roman general picks a level 2 leader for drilled Roman troops, he is an Optio. If anything else he is a normal L2 leader.

Don
by Quackstheking
Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:58 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Combat to front and rear
Replies: 19
Views: 2518

Re: Combat to front and rear

As per the rules as written, they would retire with their shock but could re-engage next turn either on their Leaders activation or on the Signa card after TF. Remember Warrior Cavalry get two rounds of combat - skirmish cavalry, whose primary role is after all to skirmish by throwing sticks, only g...
by Quackstheking
Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:27 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Combat to front and rear
Replies: 19
Views: 2518

Re: Combat to front and rear

Hi Waterhouse, It is shock that causes cavalry to retire after one or two rounds depending if they're Mounted Warriors or Skirmish Cavalry - assuming they didn't lose then no shock equals no retire (7.6.6). You're describing a situation when the enemy Group hit in the Front and Rear has effectively ...
by Quackstheking
Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:17 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Lets talk about Surly Troops
Replies: 9
Views: 1257

Re: Lets talk about Surly Troops

Yes - of course if there was a Level 1 or Level 2 leader in command range, he could activate them as he outranks the SN.

Don
by Quackstheking
Mon Aug 24, 2020 1:28 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Lets talk about Surly Troops
Replies: 9
Views: 1257

Re: Lets talk about Surly Troops

Hi David, Yes they've opted to deploy and fight under the Named Leaders command as per page 73 on Troop Characteristics. The exception is Fanatics. They can keep their Supra Numerum Leader with a card in deck. This means they can ambush off of an Ambush point when the SN's card is dealt. However the...
by Quackstheking
Mon Aug 24, 2020 9:10 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Lets talk about Surly Troops
Replies: 9
Views: 1257

Re: Lets talk about Surly Troops

In this instance I might "Play the Period" and not the rules! You allocate Groups to Leaders before the game begins so the narrative would be that both cavalry groups are from the same tribe being led by a Tribal leader. On this basis I would only roll once for their Surly characteristic and apply t...
by Quackstheking
Sun Aug 23, 2020 6:46 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: River Crossing
Replies: 6
Views: 779

Re: River Crossing

That was the Battle of the Medway crossing where allegedly the Batavian Auxiliaries swam the river. Roman Legionaries we’re trained to swim as part of their induction.

Generally though troops didn’t swim!

Don
by Quackstheking
Sun Aug 23, 2020 2:49 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Sequence of Combats
Replies: 5
Views: 707

Re: Sequence of Combats

It is exactly as John (Archdukek) says, the impact is in future rounds. Often the Romans will have a tough decision, where Briton group 1 has been pushed back does the Roman Group follow up and hope that the adjacent combat is a draw and in the second round they will provide an overlap or do they fo...
by Quackstheking
Sun Aug 23, 2020 2:44 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: River Crossing
Replies: 6
Views: 779

Re: River Crossing

During play testing we experimented with various dice rolled states of the river. However Rich discarded this step as it was A) unnecessary chrome which added in complexity B) Many skirmish encounters were fought around bridges and fords which should be replicated. Therefore as John states the inten...
by Quackstheking
Sun Aug 23, 2020 10:43 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Pilum and Combat
Replies: 5
Views: 804

Re: Pilum and Combat

The Captain, John and Hamilton are correct - it is only casualties caused in the combat that count towards who wins the combat.

Don