Search found 221 matches

by bandrsntch
Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:33 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Setting buildings on fire?
Replies: 8
Views: 2165

Re: Setting buildings on fire?

After reading this article on Heated Shot(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heated_shot), I came to believe it's something that would probably not be seen on the Sharp Practice battlefield. Barring that one might use howitzers to cause buildings to catch fire by its explosive effects. Unfortunately ther...
by bandrsntch
Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:08 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Setting buildings on fire?
Replies: 8
Views: 2165

Re: Setting buildings on fire?

See Table 22 on page 65. "Douse a structure with spirits and light" should fit the bill. Don't see where you can set a building on fire with Artillery fire. You will have to come up with your own rule. Found the following in the FAQ: "Q: The rules for Chapter's End state any building made unstable d...
by bandrsntch
Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:22 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Some dumb questions about fistifuffs
Replies: 4
Views: 1016

Re: Some dumb questions about fistifuffs

If you're charging unloaded it is indeed the impetus of your charge and the threat of naked cold steel that is important. Loaded or unloaded is no odds. It seems more than fair enough to me. I can buy into that easily. Think I would have gone with "Meeting Attack loaded" as "+1D6 per group" rather ...
by bandrsntch
Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:50 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Some dumb questions about fistifuffs
Replies: 4
Views: 1016

Re: Some dumb questions about fistifuffs

My case was more like the diagram on top right of p. 52 of SP2 rules. No Flank Attack was involved. The actual event was that I had charged needing eight inches to contact and only got six. So my LI sat in front of thirty Militia waiting to get slaughtered by a volley, but four Red Command cards cam...
by bandrsntch
Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:19 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Some dumb questions about fistifuffs
Replies: 4
Views: 1016

Some dumb questions about fistifuffs

A single unloaded group of British LI in Line charges the end Group of a three Group American Militia Formation. The LI have the Tomahawks Character. The Tomahawks get two hits. 1.Does the Shock from the Tomahawks go only on the Charged Group or is it split between the Target Group and the Supportin...
by bandrsntch
Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:15 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Campaign moderation tools and tips please/
Replies: 5
Views: 1123

Re: Campaign moderation tools and tips please/

Have you looked at the Dawns & Departures book from TooFatLardies? Lots of good ideas and tools to run a campaign in there.
by bandrsntch
Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:38 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Duels
Replies: 3
Views: 826

Re: Duels

From page 67: "The duel is immediately fought to a conclusion or until there have been four rounds of combat, in which case both parties take a breather  before continuing upon either’s next activation. " Not sure if the above is to be applied to the fight over the colors or is just meant to cover t...
by bandrsntch
Mon Sep 02, 2019 4:04 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Duels
Replies: 3
Views: 826

Duels

Got into a situation where a unit with a wounded Status I Leader(Status reduce by 1 level to zero) and Colors, lost the Fisticuffs by three kills. Rules say the Leaders fight a duel over the colors. Now does the wounded Leader automatically start with one less die for the duel or does he get the nor...
by bandrsntch
Sat Aug 31, 2019 6:19 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: unit without leader
Replies: 2
Views: 746

Re: unit without leader

Don't see why you couldn't although some games/scenarios don't use Support Points. Some players might think you're gaming the system to use leader points to up the quality(Characteristics) of your force. I have found however, that more and better leaders give you a better advantage than more or bett...
by bandrsntch
Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:48 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Thin Red Line Question
Replies: 12
Views: 2088

Re: Thin Red Line Question

I'm in agreement with you, but where does it say "if loaded" for Thin Red Line? The definition of TRL on page 85 makes no mention of being "loaded". It says so for "Rebel Yell" which is an identical situation(imho), but not for TRL I love SP, but there are lots of instances where the rules could hav...