Search found 1690 matches

by Richard
Fri May 01, 2020 8:16 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4865

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

Levi No, I am agreeing with you. I think the chatty English rules comment from TMP is a valid point. Ever since Featherstone, the rules written here have been in that style. My “it is what it is” comment is just saying ‘that’s my writing style’. I am both English and chatty. I do recognise that can ...
by Richard
Fri May 01, 2020 8:16 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4865

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

Levi No, I am agreeing with you. I think the chatty English rules comment from TMP is a valid point. Ever since Featherstone, the rules written here have been in that style. My “it is what it is” comment is just saying ‘that’s my writing style’. I am both English and chatty. I do recognise that can ...
by Richard
Fri May 01, 2020 7:35 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4865

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

"Chatty English rules", as a commentator of TMP once said, versus the SPI legal. style document.

Well, I guess the summation from me would be: they is what they is.

Rich
by Richard
Fri May 01, 2020 7:13 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4865

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

I can indeed. It's the assumption that the 2 is all that is available in that whole phase.

So your example where he removes Shock is certainly NOT a double activation and is perfectly allowable.

That adjustment would seem to do it.

Rich
by Richard
Fri May 01, 2020 6:44 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4865

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

Page 21 is simply about when a Leader is attached or not, so let's not even introduce that into command initiatives and Actions. Page 17 is referring to the fact that if a Leader moves or fires with a section a the roll of 2, he cannot used his CI. He can't use CI because the roll is 2. The problem ...
by Richard
Fri May 01, 2020 3:27 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4865

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

Happy to chat that through further when morning arrives, but I think this is pretty straightforward.

Please do let me know if that straightens things out in your minds.

Rich.
by Richard
Fri May 01, 2020 3:22 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4865

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

It strikes me that the key bit here is the free move with a unit the Leader is attached to. If he moves with a section/team when it activates on a 2 or 1, then he is NOT activated. The rules makes that quite clear. If a Leader is with a section/team activated on a 2/1 he CANNOT fire as he is not act...
by Richard
Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:24 pm
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: Infamy Infamy forces nudge...
Replies: 30
Views: 4768

Re: Infamy Infamy forces nudge...

Should have been today. BUT (big but) we got our Royal Mail account finalised today so I have been (and still am) working through the backlog. We are recording the next Oddcast tomorrow and I intend to follow on with the next video.

Rich
by Richard
Fri Apr 17, 2020 8:26 am
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: Infamy Infamy forces nudge...
Replies: 30
Views: 4768

Re: Infamy Infamy forces nudge...

Oh, I am fully aware of what material there is. My comments about lack of reading was related purely to the lack of classical texts which re my usual starting point. For example Trajan's own account is completely missing (apart from five words which aren't much help!). There is a wide range of acade...
by Richard
Tue Apr 14, 2020 4:16 pm
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: Infamy, Infamy Hairy Germans!
Replies: 32
Views: 4677

Re: Infamy, Infamy Hairy Germans!

Well, of course the majority of sling shot finds are cast metal rather than stone. Of course, there is the HUGE possibility that people looking at a cast iron sling shot will say "Oh, that is a metal sling shot" whereas they'd kick the stone down the road. Some of the metal shot discovered in the No...