Search found 4764 matches

by Archdukek
Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:22 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Off Table Mortars
Replies: 13
Views: 4815

Re: Off Table Mortars

Hi Alan, I take your point, but in actual practice does it matter? The cease fire order signifies a change in the battery's orders and requires the use of an additional command activation before you move on to the process of ranging on another target. It is using up command effort. While it might ha...
by Archdukek
Sat Sep 14, 2013 10:33 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Off Table Mortars
Replies: 13
Views: 4815

Re: Off Table Mortars

Allan, The timescales involved in each phase are actually quite short. I think you need to consider this as the FOO continuing to call down fire each time he is activated on the coordinates he has previously given to the battery unless he chooses to move the aiming point by 6" as per Step 3 in 10.3....
by Archdukek
Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:45 am
Forum: Bag the Hun
Topic: Battle of Britian
Replies: 1
Views: 2075

Re: Battle of Britian

Thanks for this Terry, a very interesting blog which I have bookmarked for future reference.

John
by Archdukek
Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:17 am
Forum: Kiss Me Hardy
Topic: Another Period To Play
Replies: 9
Views: 4582

Re: Another Period To Play

Excellent looking ships. I'm sure you will get a lot of fun from those. Being card driven you can play KMH as a solo game. They look like the 1:2400 scale ships produced by Tumbling Dice which are what I use, rather than 1:1200 so Brian can maybe feel a little less jealous. :D Still a real bargain f...
by Archdukek
Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:23 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Skirmish Campaign Scenarios and CoC
Replies: 35
Views: 14519

Re: Skirmish Campaign Scenarios and CoC

Tom, I've never used the Skirmish Campaign Scenarios so I don't know if this would work, but have you considered bringing in a random element by perhaps rolling a D3 at the end of each CoC phase and using the score from that to keep Scenario time. A Scenario turn passes when the cumulative D3 dice s...
by Archdukek
Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:47 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Deploy and Activate?
Replies: 110
Views: 31911

Re: Deploy and Activate?

I don't believe there is such a thing as perfect concealment on the battlefield. Certainly not at the distances we are considering in a Chain of Command game. Under the rules once troops are deployed on table they become a potential target if your opponent has line of sight to them.However, if it re...
by Archdukek
Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:40 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Entrenchments
Replies: 12
Views: 5238

Re: Entrenchments

Ah John, I sympathise. Now if you played in 28mm that would only be enough for a couple of squads and cost you 4 points. :D

John
by Archdukek
Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:32 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Deploy and Activate?
Replies: 110
Views: 31911

Re: Deploy and Activate?

Exactly Mikey.
Additionally you might want to detach a scout team from your section and push them forward towards the jump off point which should force the enemy to deploy, thus revealing the previously hidden troops, or risk losing the use of the jump off point altogether.
John
by Archdukek
Thu Sep 12, 2013 5:05 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Deploy and Activate?
Replies: 110
Views: 31911

Re: Deploy and Activate?

They've been there since before the game started. That's why your patrol marker got locked down - your scouts couldn't get past them.

John
by Archdukek
Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:19 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Deploy and Activate?
Replies: 110
Views: 31911

Re: Deploy and Activate?

Or maybe found a tunnel, so they could miraculously appear in the open on the other side of the river without being seen crossing. I think this is a prime example of playing the rules, not the period. Or do we have first hand reports of enemy squads suddenly appearing in the open a few yards from a...