Search found 717 matches

by JimLeCat
Mon Sep 02, 2019 12:54 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Close Combat 4 x dice to enemy player
Replies: 42
Views: 976

Re: Close Combat 4 x dice to enemy player

Except a rout doesn't incur a BTH roll anyway - breaking does, and *also* causes a rout. The only BTH roll for routing is for a leader leaving the table at the end of the turn if attached to a broken unit.
by JimLeCat
Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:50 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Close Combat 4 x dice to enemy player
Replies: 42
Views: 976

Re: Close Combat 4 x dice to enemy player

This 'rout' has nothing to do with breaking, or routing as a consequence of that, it's just a swift retreat to avoid a hopeless fight (this was hashed over when CoC was first released). The wording is a hangover from IABSM, I think, where a similar mechanism applies but the term doesn’t have the sam...
by JimLeCat
Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:45 pm
Forum: Dux Britanniarum
Topic: Are raiders really brittle?
Replies: 3
Views: 260

Re: Are raiders really brittle?

Hi, I haven't played Dux Brit for at least 2 or 3 years, but from memory what makes them brittle is firstly that while they only die on a 6 in combat, they accumulate shock on a 3,4,5 and secondly their forces lack the leadership that allow the saxons and romano-british to rally shock off. They have...
by JimLeCat
Thu Aug 08, 2019 1:04 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Questions
Replies: 19
Views: 665

Re: Questions

To be precise, you can only interrupt during your opponent's phase, one consequence of which is that you can't interrupt an interrupt. As to interrupting an opponent who is intending to deploy and fire, you can interrupt before or after they deploy, but you can't shoot at them since you don't have a...
by JimLeCat
Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:51 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Interruption
Replies: 12
Views: 565

Re: Interruption

Personally, once the enemy unit has been deployed, I wouldn't allow an interrupt. They've effectively blundered into an ambush and that kind of mistake should be painful. Allowing an interrupt then would be too much like playing a get-out-of-jail-free card for me. Having said that, if I had a CoC di...
by JimLeCat
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:55 pm
Forum: Charlie Don't Surf
Topic: Rules question
Replies: 3
Views: 354

Re: Rules question

Since both units are under the same fire, I would apply Pinned or Suppressed to both of them.
by JimLeCat
Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:19 pm
Forum: Charlie Don't Surf
Topic: Rules question
Replies: 3
Views: 354

Re: Rules question

Hi Paul, Welcome to the wonderful world of Lard! ;^D Yes, you are playing it wrong, but this one is a common mistake among new players. The right answer is 'none of the above' - what you actually do is divide the hits *before* you roll for effect, then each unit suffers the rolled effect of the hits...
by JimLeCat
Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:38 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Uncontrolled Troops
Replies: 3
Views: 287

Re: Uncontrolled Troops

They don't fire volleys like Line troops, so they don't go uncontrolled.
by JimLeCat
Tue Jul 09, 2019 6:54 pm
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Questions, AFV mounted machine guns
Replies: 1
Views: 249

Re: Questions, AFV mounted machine guns

Hi,

More than just reasonable, exactly right on both counts!

Cheers,
Jim
by JimLeCat
Sun May 26, 2019 9:36 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: More Rivers To Cross PSC
Replies: 28
Views: 1417

Re: More Rivers To Cross PSC

I would run it the same way as Chris, giving the defender all the normal options, with the exception that they get no wounded back (until the next game). You ask why an attacker would choose to use this under those terms? Well, firstly, the chance to take two Maps in one Turn is huge. Secondly, if t...