Search found 25 matches

by Hamilton
Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:15 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Combat to front and rear
Replies: 19
Views: 1117

Re: Combat to front and rear

I think it is possible for a group to stick around -- depending on the dice rolls of course. As I understand it, as long as they don't loose by two or more kills in a round warriors will stick around until shock exceeds number of figures in a group. Depending upon cavalry type yes they'll only stay ...
by Hamilton
Mon Aug 24, 2020 5:05 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Rolling for Fervour
Replies: 1
Views: 197

Rolling for Fervour

Hi all, Got a couple of questions regarding the leader's roll for Fervour: 3.3 Barbarian Fervour P. 40 "Only Foot troops rated as Warriors may benefit from Fervour." Does the group have to have the troop characteristic "Fevour"? "The Leader rolls a D6 and consults the following table, adding +1 to h...
by Hamilton
Sun Aug 23, 2020 3:17 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: River Crossing
Replies: 6
Views: 393

Re: River Crossing

Thanks, John & Don. I also thought that might be the intention, but was unsure and not familiar with any historical reference around this. I can understand that Romans in their heavy armor and shields would not swim or do a deep wade across a river for fear of loosing their footing. But not sure the...
by Hamilton
Sun Aug 23, 2020 12:31 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: River Crossing
Replies: 6
Views: 393

River Crossing

I can't find anything specifically stating whether rivers can be crossed other that at it's crossing, either a bridge or ford. I think it would be interesting for there to be some flexibility for both river's and ford's "obstacle classification" to be declared or rolled for during terrain setup as e...
by Hamilton
Sun Aug 23, 2020 12:39 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Combat to front and rear
Replies: 19
Views: 1117

Re: Combat to front and rear

Waterhorse wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:12 pm
I'm just trying to get a sensible way forwards,...
So do you feel like you have enough of an answer to provide a way forward?

Hamilton
by Hamilton
Sun Aug 23, 2020 12:34 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Combat to front and rear
Replies: 19
Views: 1117

Re: Combat to front and rear

Hi Hamilton, I think “may remain in formation” simply covers the possibility that in a 2 group formation the removal of one group by being charged in the flank or rear means there is no formation to remain part of. John Hi John, yes indeed and I don't think it matters as the group may leave the for...
by Hamilton
Sat Aug 22, 2020 6:13 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Combat to front and rear
Replies: 19
Views: 1117

Re: Combat to front and rear

Support seems pretty narrowly defined: 7.1 SUPPORTING GROUPS P. 53 "Groups not in contact with the enemy but in contact with a friendly Group that is fighting may provide support. To provide support, a Group must be to the rear of the fighting Group, or on its right or left flank and not in combat i...
by Hamilton
Sat Aug 22, 2020 5:45 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Pilum and Combat
Replies: 5
Views: 407

Re: Pilum and Combat

I agree, it seems the "result of close combat" is an integral part of the "7.6.1 Close Combat Calculation" and not part of "Ranged Missile Fire". 7.6.1 Close Combat Calculation P. 59 "The result of the Close Combat is determined by the successful number of Kills (not Shock) on both sides after the a...
by Hamilton
Sat Aug 22, 2020 5:15 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Combat to front and rear
Replies: 19
Views: 1117

Re: Combat to front and rear

Seems to me Captain Reid is right. If they survive two rounds of combat they could turn to face (presuming that's the bigger threat) but they will still be fighting two combats and if they have to make an involuntary withdrawal as a reaction to either one they will be destroyed. For Reference: 7.2.3...
by Hamilton
Sat Aug 22, 2020 3:56 pm
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Lets talk about Surly Troops
Replies: 9
Views: 615

Re: Lets talk about Surly Troops

I am no authority but I think the later, "...they just have to rely on a Supra Numerum leader to get them through the fight?" To include the Rule Reference: Troop Characteristics P. 75 "Surly Groups will only activate on their own Leaders Commands. They may never form a Formation or Mob with other A...