Search found 4363 matches

by Archdukek
Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:35 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: 100 Days scenarios - Arriving Off Table Reserves
Replies: 6
Views: 111

Re: 100 Days scenarios - Arriving Off Table Reserves

Yes troops classified as "Off Table Reserves" need to be activated and brought on table through the tasking of 2 ADCs once they arrive off table. However, the ADCs associated with them are available from the outset of the game but only available on a 5 or 6. The total number of ADCs is a reflection ...
by Archdukek
Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:28 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: More newbie doubts
Replies: 12
Views: 332

Re: More newbie doubts

Munin wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:02 pm
Seret wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 2:59 pm
I'd be inclined to have them brass up the spot the AT team fired from with a bit of "covering fire".
Same.
Me too!
by Archdukek
Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:23 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: 100 Days scenarios - Arriving Off Table Reserves
Replies: 6
Views: 111

Re: 100 Days scenarios - Arriving Off Table Reserves

Hi Mart, Haven't checked the specific scenario, but the rule on Reinforcing Brigades on page 23 of the rulebook seems quite clear that scheduled reinforcements arrive automatically on the turn specified. They are not considered to be reserves but operate normally on arrival so you do not have to all...
by Archdukek
Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:34 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Out of my depth
Replies: 16
Views: 364

Re: Out of my depth

As bob696 says, 5/60th is the 5th Battalion of the 60th Foot also known as the Royal Americans as the regiment was originally raised during the French & Indian Wars to defend the North American colonies. It included foreign recruits and officers. By the time of the Napoleonic Wars the first 4 battal...
by Archdukek
Sun Jun 23, 2019 9:02 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Movement
Replies: 2
Views: 87

Re: Movement

A unit can wheel, which means one flank corner remains stationary while the rest of the unit rotates/swivels around that fixed point at normal speed, to whatever angle it can achieve with its movement. This can be more than 45' and I suspect is what the Highlanders may have done in the video. Depend...
by Archdukek
Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:44 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Movement near the edge of a woods.
Replies: 23
Views: 429

Re: Movement near the edge of a woods.

I suppose one could instruct the troops to "advance until you can just see out of the forest.". But I'd probably only allow it with a 1d6 movement, where they're taking their time and being cautious. No you can't do that under the rules. You can only declare the intention to stop at a specific reco...
by Archdukek
Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:00 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Interrupts
Replies: 2
Views: 72

Re: Interrupts

The ability to activate a unit with 2 Command Cards or a Leader with 3 is a key part of the rules as it offsets to some extent the friction related to relying on the 50% chance of a particular Leader card being drawn before Tiffin. It enables a player to react to an opponent's move to a limited degr...
by Archdukek
Sat Jun 22, 2019 3:13 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: British Airborne special rule.?
Replies: 12
Views: 246

Re: British Airborne special rule.?

Yes Rich tends not to cost in rules which may only be of fleeting benefit in a game.
As for KVL campaign, given the background to the Paras drop and their disorganisation, I'd say you should ignore it in that case as the men may be operating in what are ad hoc units.

John
by Archdukek
Sat Jun 22, 2019 3:03 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: HE and Large Stuctures
Replies: 5
Views: 145

Re: HE and Large Stuctures

John, I would define moving in the rubble as equivalent to moving on a rocky slope which is treated as Heavy Going, losing 1" off each movement dice as well as preventing moving At the Double (Section 7.2). There is nothing in the rules about how long a collapsed building stirs enough dust to block ...
by Archdukek
Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:55 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Movement near the edge of a woods.
Replies: 23
Views: 429

Re: Movement near the edge of a woods.

The player has to state where he is moving to before any dice are rolled, not afterwards. He can say that he is stopping at the hedge and will stop there and not go beyond it, but he cannot say he will stop at some specific distance from the hedge. He cannot use the hedge to define another point in ...