Search found 1116 matches

by Munin
Sun May 31, 2020 5:07 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: HE vs Bunkers
Replies: 5
Views: 109

Re: HE vs Bunkers

There's nothing in the rules that says a bunker's level of cover isn't reduced by HE weapons. Further, there's evidence that implies that it is. The Blitzkrieg 1940 handbook introduces another level of cover, the Fortification. It works like a Bunker, except in addition to ignoring the first kill it...
by Munin
Fri May 29, 2020 9:29 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: A bit confused about PSCs and the Rendezvous with Destiny campaign
Replies: 6
Views: 303

Re: A bit confused about PSCs and the Rendezvous with Destiny campaign

Generally when the "defending" force wins Scenario 1 they must Strengthen Defenses as there is no further table to counterattack. This is quite a coup for them though as it burns two turns of a campaign, turns vital to the attacking player. No, it doesn't burn two turns, it only burns one. This is ...
by Munin
Thu May 28, 2020 5:34 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: How many of my squad can fire, or how many figs per cm of front?
Replies: 33
Views: 723

Re: How many of my squad can fire, or how many figs per cm of front?

What if you get an 8” move but only move 6” to reorder a firing line? Most of the time, you're moving to a terrain feature (wall, hedge, ditch, dune crest, wadi) so it's not a problem. And if you do happen to be in the open, then I'd probably rule that your existing firing line serves as a de-facto...
by Munin
Thu May 28, 2020 12:05 am
Forum: Bag the Hun
Topic: What would cause you to withdraw from the table?
Replies: 3
Views: 145

Re: What would cause you to withdraw from the table?

It would depend on which side I'm playing and the circumstances of the scenario. If I'm escorting bombers, I might disengage once they were safely away - especially if they had dropped their bomb loads. Similarly, if I were trying to lessen the number of enemy bombers, I might break off once I'd kil...
by Munin
Wed May 27, 2020 11:37 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: How many of my squad can fire, or how many figs per cm of front?
Replies: 33
Views: 723

Re: How many of my squad can fire, or how many figs per cm of front?

I'm firmly in the "'micro moves' are not a thing" camp. The large, early war squads are unwieldy to command and bring into a firing line. If you just say, "eh, good enough" and let an entire blob of infantrymen in the same squad fire, then suddenly the 20-man Italian platoons become the rock-stars o...
by Munin
Wed May 27, 2020 9:28 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Oddcast 32 visibility and cover.
Replies: 11
Views: 708

Re: Oddcast 32 visibility and cover.

I've found I don't even need blinds. There's enough uncertainty in activation/deployment with the Command Dice that even if you know what you're facing the game still has plenty of uncertainty involved.
by Munin
Wed May 27, 2020 9:25 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaigns
Replies: 19
Views: 528

Re: Campaigns

I very much enjoy asymmetric scenarios or campaigns where the balance lies not with what happens in any single engagement on the tabletop, but rather across the whole course of the campaign. Carefully husbanding your resources and taking advantage of every opportunity your opponent gives you is part...
by Munin
Mon May 18, 2020 5:28 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: 28mm Cavalry Basing: Pill or Round?
Replies: 4
Views: 404

Re: 28mm Cavalry Basing: Pill or Round?

Are you using sabot bases? I do my Sharp Practice ACW stuff in 15mm, but here's how I handle my cavalry: https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/TJn6yLT7KcPgtTVKipaAO-_I4s-0-gVa6erl8irui5AuhmIrw_-G2W1UbqAsNULY7D98vXEpp9EEkY3_Tw=w640-h480-no?.jpg That way, they fit into the same sabot-bases I'm using for m...
by Munin
Thu May 14, 2020 4:47 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Attached Leader Controlling Fire
Replies: 12
Views: 2472

Re: Attached Leader Controlling Fire

If the leader spends a CI to activate a unit, and if that unit fires as part of its activation, the leader's status level is added to the roll. The unit still gets its normal 2 actions, and the Leader is free to use his other CI (if he has any) to other uses (such as rallying Shock).
by Munin
Thu May 14, 2020 4:37 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Are Panzerschrecks too powerful?
Replies: 33
Views: 1577

Re: Are Panzerschrecks too powerful?

- your point about the velocity of the HEAT jet is well made. But in a strike in which the mass of the solid shot penetrator is 10-15 times that of the HEAT one, that more than cancels it out. Not even close. The HEAT jet is travelling ~6x (or higher!) faster than the solid penetrator. Since the ve...