Leader KO a bad thing?

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

User avatar
Tom Ballou
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:00 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Tom Ballou » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:41 pm

I'm sure this has been asked before, but is a leader Knocked Out a Bad Thing? He is not wounded, but losing you leader would seem a bad thing. :lol:

I couldn't find the answer in the forum quickly. Looking back in older posts, I have not interpreted it as a bad thing.
--Tom

Never drive a car when you're dead
--Tom Waits "Telephone Call From Istanbul"

User avatar
Emilio
Posts: 456
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:43 pm
Location: Cee, Galicia, Northwest Spain
Contact:

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Emilio » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:05 pm

I would say that he is very wounded...

Rawnsley
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Rawnsley » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:15 pm

Yup, tis still classed as a wound.

User avatar
Tom Ballou
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:00 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Tom Ballou » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:15 pm

You know, I was stupid, I was looking at an old QRS, the new one clarifies KO and Wounded. So you no longer just get beaned, and KO, your at best wounded.
--Tom

Never drive a car when you're dead
--Tom Waits "Telephone Call From Istanbul"

User avatar
Arlequín
Posts: 1130
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:29 pm
Location: King's Vale Royal

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Arlequín » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:28 pm

Whether it is actually a bad thing from the platoon's point of view is a moot point though. Leaders, can't live with them, can't really frag them. ;)

Morgan
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:39 pm

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Morgan » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:47 pm

It seemed like every leader decided to have a "little lie down" in our game on Sunday. It was definitely a bad thing from the point of view of getting the chaps to bloody well do something!
Use the Consolidated Arsenal! It's here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... E/htmlview

batesmotel34
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 12:14 pm

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by batesmotel34 » Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:18 pm

If the consensus is that a leader who is knocked out to end of turn, is also so wounded, does he also lose an initiative when he revives? (I've always played that the KO result counts as a wound (including towards the total to kill the leader), but hadn't reduced the leader's initiative when he revives on the next turn.Thinking about it more, maybe the leader should also have reduced initiative.

Chris

Rawnsley
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Rawnsley » Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:51 pm

No, he only loses an initiative on a roll of 4,5 or 6

This was clarified in the latest FAQ.

User avatar
Tom Ballou
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:00 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Tom Ballou » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:34 pm

Rawnsley wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:51 pm
No, he only loses an initiative on a roll of 4,5 or 6

This was clarified in the latest FAQ.
Really where? I didn't see that in the latest FAQ. http://toofatlardies.co.uk/blog/wp-cont ... -FAQ-1.pdf

But I found this under: 9.3.4 Tank Hunters, but that might be in the wrong section, as Tank Hunters are a just special teams without leaders. So I'm going to assume that this was meant for standard Junior and Senior leaders. Which answers my original question.
Q: When a leader is hit and the wound roll is 2 or 3, does this also reduce his initiative points by
1?
A: No. It does count as a wound for Force Morale purposes, but the effect is to remove them from
the game for the rest of this turn.
The most recent QRS I have, has "Knocked out and Wounded", which conflicts with Rich's answer above, and Rawnsly's post.

But I believe that Richard is a follower of Emerson's quote:
A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds...
Last edited by Tom Ballou on Mon Apr 16, 2018 10:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
--Tom

Never drive a car when you're dead
--Tom Waits "Telephone Call From Istanbul"

User avatar
Travh20
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:06 pm

Re: Leader KO a bad thing?

Post by Travh20 » Mon Apr 16, 2018 10:03 pm

I think a leader who is knocked out for the rest of the turn should lose an command initiative personally. The other day we had a game where a leader was knocked unconscious multiple times as well as taking a light wound in he same turn. He never died. But had to keep rolling on the bad things happen table. if you get knocked unconscious twice you should be dead.
Chain of Command video battle reports and more at https://www.youtube.com/user/travh20

Post Reply