Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
Vanth
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:37 pm
Location: Paciano (PG), Italy
Contact:

Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Vanth » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:03 pm

Hello Gentlemen, I am in need of help. I have been trying to look on the rulebook, on the FAQ and on the forum,but to no avail, sure sign that what I am lookingfor is actually in plain view and I am failing to spot it.
The question arose during today's game: a PIAT team strikes an armoured car and get 4 on two net hits, which means that the vehicle gets 1 Shock and is permanently immobilized. So far, so good. In subsequent phases the afore mentioned PIATmanages to get the exact same result again. And again. Three times permanently immobilized.
Does this mean that the vehicle at some popint is destroyed or is just a plain case of appalling luck, simply blowing the armoured car's wheels off one by one?
Thanks in advance...
Vanth
"...there are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in thyne philosophy..."

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6721
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Truscott Trotter » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:57 pm

Page 64 first paragraph is what you want.

Basically an immobilized vehicle is hit again any shock is doubled so the second hit would give it 4 shock - enough to cause the vehicle crew to abandon the vehicle even if the first 2 shock had been removed.

User avatar
Vanth
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:37 pm
Location: Paciano (PG), Italy
Contact:

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Vanth » Sun Nov 10, 2019 1:53 pm

Thanks, it makes sense of course, but in the middle of the action I totally missed it!
Vanth
"...there are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in thyne philosophy..."

Contrarius
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:35 pm

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Contrarius » Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:00 pm

So, just to clarify: if a vehicle gets bogged down (say in muddy going) it counts as immobilised. And because it's immobilised if it receives shock that is doubled?

batesmotel34
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 12:14 pm

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by batesmotel34 » Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:36 pm

It's not clear in the rules but I would only apply the penalty to a permanently immobilized vehicle.

Chris

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 3936
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Seret » Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:57 pm

batesmotel34 wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:36 pm
It's not clear in the rules but I would only apply the penalty to a permanently immobilized vehicle.
Me too.

Peter
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Peter » Sun Nov 10, 2019 4:47 pm

Your immobile and under effective fire. You are much more likely to abandon your vehicle than if you know you can manoeuvre. So I'd say yes, double the shock (unless the rule is clear that it has to be permanent immobilisation)

Peter

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6721
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Truscott Trotter » Sun Nov 10, 2019 8:56 pm

P 64 actually states just immobilized or have your main gun out of action.

IRL most crews would leg it when their vehicle is immobilized as they know they are now sitting in a death trap.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6721
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Truscott Trotter » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:32 pm

Actual text of relevant para p 64
A vehicle that is immobilised or has its main gun
out of action will double any subsequent Shock
suffered. A vehicle crew which abandons their
vehicle will not return to it in the current game.

Captain W Martin
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: Vehicle permanently immobilized. Twice...

Post by Captain W Martin » Mon Nov 11, 2019 11:09 am

^^
Excellent, now is that a support until lost roll on BtH?

Post Reply