Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
bellebsc
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:57 am

Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

Post by bellebsc »

A unit wins a victory and the defeated routed unit interpenetrates a unit directly behind it unforming it. The chargers role their dice and charge on towards the unformed unit, may the unformed unit fire on the chargers? I can't find anything to say they can't.

Now just to clarify if the unit that was interpenetrated was in a support role during the initial charge then I know they can't fire as they are automatically drawn into a support role.

This example is the unit was charged in the flank and there was fresh units setting up a second line of defence from the brigade behind them, so as the other units were not facing in the same direction of the unit during original charge then they can not automatically drawn in as a support role.

My thoughts are no they can't fire but would like to hear your thoughts John

Thanks

Ricky

Archdukek
Posts: 4854
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Ricky,

As far as I can see there is nothing explicitly preventing the second defending unit firing as an Unformed unit when the attackers reach the 5cm point. However, I suggest you take a look at the earlier post on Firing at a unit crossing the front of the defender. In replying to that DB suggests that if the attackers with Charge On! are waiting 15cm of the new unit they are charging then there can be no counter fire on the way in. That prohibits notion would make even more sense in your example.

John

Archdukek
Posts: 4854
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Ricky,

As far as I can see there is nothing explicitly preventing the second defending unit firing as an Unformed unit when the attackers reach the 5cm point. However, I suggest you take a look at the earlier post on Firing at a unit crossing the front of the defender. In replying to that DB suggests that if the attackers with Charge On! are waiting 15cm of the new unit they are charging then there can be no counter fire on the way in. That prohibition would make even more sense in your example.

John

Archdukek
Posts: 4854
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Polish Lancer,
In his OP Ricky acknowledged that if the unit to the rear was supporting then it couldn't fire and the outcome would be different as you say. However, in his case the rear unit was not in a position to provide support but close enough to be interpenetrated so it isn't forced to retire.

Any thoughts on whether it could fire in that different case?

John

DCRBrown
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

Post by DCRBrown »

Ricky,

If the unformed/interpenetrated unit was a support then it cannot fire as it must retire with its routed lead unit.

If the unformed/interpenetrated unit was not a support then it may fire with an unformed volley.

In future the revised ruling will be: "No units may fire at a Charging On! unit if the chargers are within 15cms." (I.e. it's too close for the defenders to react quickly enough.)

DB

EQUITES
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 7:50 am
Location: MILAN, Italy

Re: Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

Post by EQUITES »

Hi Dave,
maybe it's time to update your FAQS file.....what do you think ?
Michele

Post Reply