Snipers under Barrage

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1775
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Snipers under Barrage

Post by john de terre neuve » Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:31 pm

Do they test like a team when caught under a barrage or are they in someway magical and disappear? Can they move, ie not pinned like other troops?

John

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6517
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by Truscott Trotter » Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:09 pm

Yes I think they test like any other team.mind you some don't test for solo officers so I expect some discussion.

I reckon you could spend the CoC die and move em but then I am mortar maverick and dont auto pin anything 😋

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 3910
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by Seret » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:54 am

They test for casualties just like everybody else. This makes mortars very effective for getting rid of snipers. Possibly a little too effective, but since calling in mortars was one of the most popular real-world counter-sniping measures I wouldn't worry about it.

Personally I would allow a sniper to redeploy using a CoC dice. Playing a CoC dice normally allows you to do special stuff that circumvents the normal rules, and tbh I've never even seen anybody move a sniper in this way normally, so if they wanted to do it to escape a barrage I think I'd let them do it just for the sheer novelty value! I feel like having a good bug-out route to an alternate position and being able to slip away is a very "snipery" thing to do. Losing the CoC dice is enough of a penalty for dodging the barrage IMO.

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1775
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by john de terre neuve » Wed Jun 19, 2019 11:38 am

Yep that sounds good.

Thank,

John

Levi the Ox
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:57 pm

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by Levi the Ox » Sat Jun 22, 2019 6:04 pm

Truscott Trotter wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:09 pm
I reckon you could spend the CoC die and move em but then I am mortar maverick and dont auto pin anything 😋
I'd be curious to hear more about this house rule. I'm playing through Many Rivers to Cross right now, and my mortar battery is consistently nullifying half of the defender's units. I'd like to change it up a bit, but until enough campaign turns pass there aren't many other meaningful support options available.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6517
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by Truscott Trotter » Sat Jun 22, 2019 9:31 pm

No worries Levi just pm your email and I will flick you accross a copy.

User avatar
JOHN BOND 001
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by JOHN BOND 001 » Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:05 am

Just thought I would share this:
Image

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6517
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by Truscott Trotter » Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:04 pm

Why?

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1775
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by john de terre neuve » Sun Jul 14, 2019 5:13 pm

Nice one.

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 3910
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Snipers under Barrage

Post by Seret » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:16 pm

Yeah, that does seem to be a case of just plucking a ruling out of the air. I can't really think of a good reason to treat a FOO and a sniper differently. They're essentially the same thing.

Post Reply