Overwatch questions

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
dsenebrecht
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:13 pm

Overwatch questions

Post by dsenebrecht » Tue Apr 16, 2019 6:18 pm

Hi all: can someone provide some basic info on how overwatch applies in the following examples:

1) Start of game:
Defender's blind card drawn. Defender puts every unit on overwatch.
Attacker starts moving on blinds.
Defenders units successfully spots attackers blinds, some or all of defender's units open fire on spotted unit(s)
Correct?

2) A third of the way into the game. Start of a turn (after tea break and reshuffle)
Some of defender's units are still acting on the blind card.
The first card of that turn that is drawn is Attacker's Platoon One card which then attempts to move across a field.
Defenders on blind (who have been on overwatch since start of game) open fire while Attacker is out in the open.
Correct?

3) Midway through a game.
Defender MG One spotted unit disappeared into heavy woods in previous turn. MG One Card goes away and unit is back acting on a blind.
Defender blind card not yet drawn during current turn.
The first card of that turn that is drawn is Attacker's Platoon One card which then attempts to move across a field.
Attacker Platoon One card successfully makes it across field as there is no one on Overwatch to shoot at them.
Correct?

Archdukek
Posts: 4188
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Overwatch questions

Post by Archdukek » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:36 pm

Almost right.
Technically the defender blinds have reserved their actions for that Turn. Those actions can then be used later in the same Turn to spot and if successful fire upon an Attacker - that's what you have described as Overwatch.
You cannot reserve actions from one turn to the next so the Defenders blind card will have to come out first so that they can reserve actions for use later that turn. Turn End represents a significant break in proceedings sufficient to break a unit's attention span so you can't remain on "Overwatch" from one Turn to the next.

So your first example is correct, but the second example is not because the Defender's blind card has not yet been drawn that Turn so none of those blinds have yet reserved any dice. The third example is also correct because the defending MG has not yet reserved any dice to fire on the Attacker platoon which has seized the local initiative and made a successful advance before the defenders could react.

John

User avatar
TroubleAtTheMill
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: Overwatch questions

Post by TroubleAtTheMill » Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:19 pm

Agree. With the small note that some IABSM games have a Turn End and a Tea Break card, the former being used to count 'turns' till something happens, separate from 'runs through the deck' :D Hence I try and avoid using the term Turn for a run through the deck.
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/

cornelius
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:10 pm

Re: Overwatch questions

Post by cornelius » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:29 pm

Oh Mike, so as in example three, you play that when a unit goes completely out of sight of the enemy it goes back on a blind. Interesting.

dsenebrecht
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:13 pm

Re: Overwatch questions

Post by dsenebrecht » Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:58 pm

Thanks, John and Mike. Good clarifications. So once Tea Break card(s) are dealt, essentially all reserved dice/actions must be used....

User avatar
TroubleAtTheMill
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:50 pm
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: Overwatch questions

Post by TroubleAtTheMill » Thu Apr 18, 2019 7:00 pm

Yup - use it or lose it, as we say :D
And yes, I would allow a unit that has deliberately chosen to hide from all possible enemy LOS to go back on a blind. (And this is one of the reasons I play IABSM with/as an umpire :D)
Mike Whitaker
Blog: http://troubleatthemill.blogspot.com/
Podcast: The Miller's Tale (see blog)
Club: http://www.peterborough-wargames-club.org.uk/

cornelius
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:10 pm

Re: Overwatch questions

Post by cornelius » Fri Apr 19, 2019 11:30 am

Mike, thanks for the reply. I think I'll add that one to our House Rules/Clarifications list.

Post Reply