French VB Launchers happiness

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

powermonger
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:16 am

French VB Launchers happiness

Post by powermonger » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:06 pm

Finally, the Blitzkrieg supplement came out. And it is a glorious asset to have. Very nicely researched & done. Congrats!
But what i cheerish most is that finally I can have official & definitive rules for the VB launchers!!!

- they come grouped together by default
- only 4 shots, unless extra support option purchased
- can only fire to targets in LOS of team
- only effective range (ie, generally hit on 5+)
- reduce cover one level
- half effect on first shot

Only doubt remaining is if they can fire to troops in buildings ignoring the 45 degree angle (like HE), or they must be in the 45 degree angle (like small arms fire). I think it must be treated like small arms and must respect the 45 degree angle.

eternal thanks!!!!

Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 7:50 am

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by Richard » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:39 am

Powermonger, oh yes, within the 45 degrees. They are small arms.

I am glad you're pleased. I really love the VB launcher so I wanted to get it right. We tested it extensively and four rounds came out as MUCH better than three. It's nearly enough to get you through a game, but having more is an attractive option.

Rich

powermonger
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:16 am

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by powermonger » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:56 am

Thanks a lot Rich!

PS: was very nice to share some talk with you at historicon!

Nick B
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:46 am

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by Nick B » Tue Sep 18, 2018 12:07 pm

Really like these rules but could you clarify the "half effect" for first shot - I'm presuming this means one die only?

Out of genuine interest - what is the reasoning for this?

If you purchase an additional Grope de Combat as support - do you get an additional VB launcher?

Many thanks

Nick

Peter
Posts: 1075
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by Peter » Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:02 pm

I think the half effect is a way of managing 'ranging' shots, and the relative ease of a stationary target compared to a moving one.

It's going to have been part of a different platoon, but probably the same company. I'd say yes, and they can form part of the VB team.

Peter

Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 7:50 am

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by Richard » Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:14 pm

You simply roll half the dice when firing at a new target. Ranging shots is indeed the reasoning. It rewards you for bombarding a fixed target rather than trying to shoot all over the place.

Yes, you do get a VB man and he can join the VB group.

Rich

User avatar
remgain
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 6:23 pm
Location: Milano, Italia

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by remgain » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:08 pm

Wonder if these rules apply to Volkgrenadier rifle grenades in Bloody Bucket psc as well.

Marco
We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.

George Bernard Shaw

Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 7:50 am

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by Richard » Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:41 am

They could do, although I've not given it much thought.

User avatar
redmist1122
Posts: 569
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:58 am
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by redmist1122 » Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:12 am

I may be a bit thick headed here, my question is does the junior leader for the V-B launcher team sport a V-B launcher himself? I ask as pre-1940s Handbook lists had just a junior leader w/rifle. I know the book has V-B launcher for the junior leader...again just a bit thick headed.

Thanks.
Greg P.
Tucson, AZ, USA

User avatar
Arlequín
Posts: 1290
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:29 pm
Location: King's Vale Royal

Re: French VB Launchers happiness

Post by Arlequín » Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:41 am

Yes Greg he does. It was an error in the old lists.

Post Reply