deploying chariots and terrain

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
bob696
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 4:09 pm

deploying chariots and terrain

Post by bob696 »

The situation was that there was an ambush point 4" inside a wood.
Q/ Can chariots deploy from that ambush point in the open terrain beyond the edge of the wood?

The two competing theories if you like are
a) the ambush/deployment point denotes the centre of an area where 'barbarian' forces are thought to possibly be
b) The forced deploying are moving out of the deployment point and finish at the deployed location therefore chariots can't move through wooods so can not use the point.

Archdukek
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: deploying chariots and terrain

Post by Archdukek »

Since Chariots can deploy within 15” of a Deployment Point I can’t see why not. The deployment rules do not suggest any sense of units moving out from the deployment point, simply it marks the centre of the area where the enemy may be located. So (a) would be my view.

John

User avatar
Quackstheking
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:07 am
Location: Cheshunt, Herts

Re: deploying chariots and terrain

Post by Quackstheking »

When it comes to Deployment (as opposed to Ambush) any Barbarian Group can deploy from any ambush/deployment point at the distance from the centre of the point detailed on page 42. So, yes, Chariots can deploy from DP’s in woods - obviously though they must be able to deploy onto open ground!

It’s only Ambushes that put limitations on where you can deploy from. Only foot groups can ambush from low standing terrain, so if chariots were conducting an Ambush, they would have to ambush from high standing terrain such as woods - presume they are hidden in the edge of the wood!

Don

bob696
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: deploying chariots and terrain

Post by bob696 »

thanks both

Post Reply