Couple of questions

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
gcoops
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:12 pm

Couple of questions

Post by gcoops »

Couple of questions

Where in the rules does it say Non drilled troops can move and throw javlin when activated before entering close combat?

If a named leader is killed and the unit he is attached to wiped out, is his card removed from the pack?

Thanks

Archdukek
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Couple of questions

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Graham,
It says in Chapter 3 that a Group may be activated by a Leader spending 1 CI to move, shoot and fight in close combat. Rich has confirmed that a Group could do all 3 in one activation which allows non drilled troops like a Barbarian Mob to throw their javelins as they charge into close combat as would be their historic practice.
This general rule is qualified in certain cases such as Roman Legionaries or Auxilia who only throw their pila/javelins on command using the “Throw Pila” Tactical Drill at the cost of an additional CI or Signa Card. The Ranged Missile chapter Includes specific additional rules for Skirmishers and Mounted Warriors.

Yes you would remove the card for a Named Leader in those circumstances since it no longer has any purpose.

John

gcoops
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:12 pm

Re: Couple of questions

Post by gcoops »

Thanks for the clarification that's great because as written it is a little ambiguous.

gcoops
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:12 pm

Re: Couple of questions

Post by gcoops »

Does this mean a mob of warriors could with 2 Cl throw javelins then move, throw javelins again as they move and then fight in close combat? Or would that be 2 activations?

Archdukek
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Couple of questions

Post by Archdukek »

That would be two activations. They could move, throw javelins and fight as one activation at the cost of 1 CI.

John

User avatar
Quackstheking
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:07 am
Location: Cheshunt, Herts

Re: Couple of questions

Post by Quackstheking »

A Mob of Barbarian Warriors for one activation, can move, throw one round of javelins and fight a close combat. They can't throw two Javelins in the same activation so would have to wait for another turn. They cannot charge to combat in any circumstance throwing 2 javelins - one only for the Barbarians I'm afraid.

Post Reply