Couple of questions
Where in the rules does it say Non drilled troops can move and throw javlin when activated before entering close combat?
If a named leader is killed and the unit he is attached to wiped out, is his card removed from the pack?
Thanks
Couple of questions
Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe
Re: Couple of questions
Hi Graham,
It says in Chapter 3 that a Group may be activated by a Leader spending 1 CI to move, shoot and fight in close combat. Rich has confirmed that a Group could do all 3 in one activation which allows non drilled troops like a Barbarian Mob to throw their javelins as they charge into close combat as would be their historic practice.
This general rule is qualified in certain cases such as Roman Legionaries or Auxilia who only throw their pila/javelins on command using the “Throw Pila” Tactical Drill at the cost of an additional CI or Signa Card. The Ranged Missile chapter Includes specific additional rules for Skirmishers and Mounted Warriors.
Yes you would remove the card for a Named Leader in those circumstances since it no longer has any purpose.
John
It says in Chapter 3 that a Group may be activated by a Leader spending 1 CI to move, shoot and fight in close combat. Rich has confirmed that a Group could do all 3 in one activation which allows non drilled troops like a Barbarian Mob to throw their javelins as they charge into close combat as would be their historic practice.
This general rule is qualified in certain cases such as Roman Legionaries or Auxilia who only throw their pila/javelins on command using the “Throw Pila” Tactical Drill at the cost of an additional CI or Signa Card. The Ranged Missile chapter Includes specific additional rules for Skirmishers and Mounted Warriors.
Yes you would remove the card for a Named Leader in those circumstances since it no longer has any purpose.
John
Re: Couple of questions
Thanks for the clarification that's great because as written it is a little ambiguous.
Re: Couple of questions
Does this mean a mob of warriors could with 2 Cl throw javelins then move, throw javelins again as they move and then fight in close combat? Or would that be 2 activations?
Re: Couple of questions
That would be two activations. They could move, throw javelins and fight as one activation at the cost of 1 CI.
John
John
- Quackstheking
- Posts: 260
- Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:07 am
- Location: Cheshunt, Herts
Re: Couple of questions
A Mob of Barbarian Warriors for one activation, can move, throw one round of javelins and fight a close combat. They can't throw two Javelins in the same activation so would have to wait for another turn. They cannot charge to combat in any circumstance throwing 2 javelins - one only for the Barbarians I'm afraid.