Page 1 of 1

Artillery Assault Fire. Massed Batteries

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:46 pm
by WildGeese
I have massed batteries on a ridge line,(for example British 4th Div 5x 9lb in line along with 5th Div 5 x 9lb and 5 x 6lb. Total 15 Artillery pieces in line).
To benefit from Artillery Assault Fire requires 2 ADCs 'with the intended brigade' (Page 31, 4).
Question. Will the 2 ADCs only benefit ONE battery or because they are all in line... can they benefit ALL ???
or .....Another example.......The French Grand battery at Waterloo. Consisted of the 12lb companies of 3 infantry Corps (18 guns) along with the 1st Corps 4 companies of 6lb,(24 Guns) plus 1 6lb company from each Imperial Guard division (18 or possibly 24 guns) ........Thats a 'shed load' of ADCs ???

Re: Artillery Assault Fire. Massed Batteries

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:55 pm
by Archdukek
2 ADCs are sufficient to place the battery or batteries in 1 brigade on Assault Orders. So in your first example it would probably just be 1 battery which would benefit since the British tended to attach their batteries out to individual infantry brigades.

If you choose to create an artillery brigade with multiple batteries then all can be placed on assault orders, but you should check out the FAQ because if I recall there were changes in that which limits the Artillery Assault Order to two batteries in an artillery brigade.

John

Re: Artillery Assault Fire. Massed Batteries

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 5:15 am
by vlad48
The limit on Artillery Assault came up in our gaming tonight - and Archduke is correct that the limit is 2 guns/batteries that get the cd bonus.

Re: Artillery Assault Fire. Massed Batteries

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 12:06 pm
by WildGeese
Thanks Vlad - Archduke. Having checked FAQ you are right there is a reference under firing:-
FIRING 3. Artillery Assault Fire. The assault fire tasking permits a maximum of two batteries to assault fire from one brigade. Both batteries must be within support distance (5cms [3"]) of each other foe.r both to assault fire. If the batteries are deployed over this distance then only
one battery, (of the player's choice) may assault fire.
That Gentlemen answers my question. Thank you.