Page 2 of 2

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:11 am
by Fairfax
Hi John
Yes we did follow through as though it was a fresh charge, but the KGL went in to wreak havoc.
I think my deployment was at fault by giving them the chance to charge in the first place combined with dreadful dice throwing.
A painful lesson learned🤔
Thanks for your thoughts, much appreciated.
Keith

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:16 am
by m1kel
We had a similar event in this weeks game. Defending infantry were ridden down and cavalry charged on. We weren’t sure but we allowed the second infantry target, as the cavalry charged on, to fire and essentially repeated the complete charge process. Was this correct?

Note we didn’t allow the cavalry supports to go with the cavalry charging on!

Also when the defending infantry unit was charged as a result of the charging on we allowed defending units, at that point in the process, within 3” to support. I think this helps stop a single cavalry ripping right through the middle of a formation. Was this correct?
Mike

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:22 am
by Fairfax
Hi Ian
I had just assumed the artillery would be able to evade being limbered. It was only when we came to check that I read Page 50.
I had not seen Page 45 b. V.
Thanks for pointing that out and for your response.
As I said in my reply to John, I'll have to be more careful in future!
Cheers
Keith

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:32 am
by Fairfax
Hi Mike

We did the same as you described with the target of the "charge on" giving defensive fire, but they failed miserably then and also in the melee.

Sounds to me as though you were doing it correctly, but I think I forgot to give supporting defensive fire from the support unit when I could have done.

Cheers
Keith

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:36 am
by DCRBrown
Sounds like one on my games! :cry:

When charging on - simply repeat the entire charge procedure for the new charge, that includes supports and defensive firing. (p48.)

As for evading deployed artillery cannot evade - i.e. they simply do not have time to react, all they can do is fire, (canister of course! 8-) ) (Evading p50 - point 4.)

With regard to limbered artillery only horse artillery can evade, foot artillery is just too slow to be able to react like this and is automatically ridden down. (Evading p50 - point 3.)

DB

P.S. If you're at Salute pop over the the game for a chat.

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:37 am
by m1kel
Keith,
If the second target can claim supporting units at that point it also gives them a much better chance in the charge sequence as they would get a reroll whereas the charger would not as the supports we assumed would not follow during the charge on...
Mike

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:43 am
by Archdukek
Mike,
The Chargers support units can carry on supporting if the cavalry get a Charge On result, assuming there's room for them of course. See paragraph d under Victory! on page 48.

Flank supports might struggle if there are other enemy units about, but rear supports should be OK.
John

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:31 pm
by Fairfax
Thanks for the explanation David, much appreciated.

Unfortunately I will not be at Salute this year, but I hope you have a good time.

Cheers
Keith

Re: Charges again

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:33 pm
by Fairfax
Mike
I completely overlooked the fact that the second target unit was entitled to supports!
As I said we were having a run through the rules after a gap of some time, but next game I'll be better prepared.
Keith