Discipline tests on skirmish lines

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1513
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Discipline tests on skirmish lines

Post by john de terre neuve » Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:20 pm

Had my first game of GdA last night in 3 months. I was introducing a friend to the game (he has been searching for the Napoleonic Grail for longer then I), and it all went very well. Here are some photos http://fuentesdeonoro.blogspot.ca/2017/ ... armee.html

This had not come up before but with skirmish units you remove a base for every 3 accumulated kills.

My question is when performing a Discipline test on a skirmish unit of 4 bases that has lost 1 base already and has 1 casualty on the remaining bases is this a -1 on the DT for 4+ casualties.

Thanks,

John

Archdukek
Posts: 3919
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Discipline tests on skirmish lines

Post by Archdukek » Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:46 pm

Hi John,
Nice looking game and it sounds like a fun evening.

To answer your question, no Brigade skirmish screens do not deduct for casualties when conducting Dicipline Tests. If you check out the full rules, particularly the definitions of DT modifiers in the table on page 82, you will see that it specifically says that Brigade Skirmish screens ignore casualties.

John

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1513
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: Discipline tests on skirmish lines

Post by john de terre neuve » Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:26 pm

Thanks John, I just had a look and found it as you mention in the book. Probably still need to refer to the book occasionally!

John

Post Reply