Opportunity charge question

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
Alan Danskin
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 6:46 pm

Opportunity charge question

Post by Alan Danskin » Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:06 pm

Point 2, under procedure for an opportunity charge, says, "If the Discipline test is successful, the Phasing Player moves his charging unit forward 5cm [3"] and halts. (The Opportunity Charge unit must be within Charge range of the target at this point.) " But what happens if it is not?

This situation arose in our second game. We resolved it by treating it as a charge that failed to contact, but the rule implies that this situation should not arise. So what have we missed?

Should the counter charge have been disallowed because it could not contact the charging unit unless it moved more than 5cm?

Archdukek
Posts: 3562
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Opportunity charge question

Post by Archdukek » Sun Oct 01, 2017 8:55 pm

Good question. I'd say if it's not in range of the target then it cannot launch the charge. The first bullet on page 41 says that a charger must be within range of the target.

The only time there might be a question is if the Opportunity Chargers were the subject of a "Forwards" ADC tasking which introduces an additional random movement element into the equation.

However, I must admit how you handled it seems reasonable to me and leaves them vulnerable.
John

Alan Danskin
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 6:46 pm

Re: Opportunity charge question

Post by Alan Danskin » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:01 pm

Thanks. In the heat of the moment it was difficult to work out the sequence of events, but you are right, the opportunity charge was not valid because it could not contact after the target had moved 5cm, although it would have been able to do so if the charge had progressed further. On the whole it should tend to restrict reactions to units in proximity to the action.

Anyway, we are enjoying the rules. The time passed very quickly while we were playing.

Post Reply