And one last question on shooting?

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
nikjen66
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:20 pm
Location: Cambridge UK

And one last question on shooting?

Post by nikjen66 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:18 pm

In the shooting phase the rules say left right, or vice Verda or by Brigade.

So two French units in column have a badly shot up Russian line to their front, directly behind which is a Russian Battery 20 cms away ( so out of range).

French have the initiative and shoot first. The first shooter gets a DT result on the Russian line due to a good dice roll. Russian units fails the DTest and falls back behind the Battery. The second unit cannot shoot as it now has no target???

As the Russian line takes casualties before they shoot they don't get to shoot back, but as the Battery is now uncovered can it shoot??

Archdukek
Posts: 2914
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: And one last question on shooting?

Post by Archdukek » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:24 pm

Yes to both questions.
You take the Discipline Test and apply its effects immediately (page 75), so your second unit cannot fire. However, had the artillery unit been closer, the infantry fall back could have exposed them to your fire.

You assess if a unit has line of sight when it comes to fire, so in this case the uncovered battery can fire. Them's the breaks! :-)

John

nikjen66
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:20 pm
Location: Cambridge UK

Re: And one last question on shooting?

Post by nikjen66 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:30 pm

That's what we thought John. But seems a bit weird as in most rules you'd resolve all firing against any unit before it reacts/responds?

But these rules seem to be breaking all the rules! Lol

Cheers

Nick

Archdukek
Posts: 2914
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: And one last question on shooting?

Post by Archdukek » Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:40 pm

Indeed Nick they do and all the better for it say I! :-)

As for it being weird, think about it from a real world rather than Wargames rules perspective. Do you think a badly shot up battalion would stand around waiting for its opponent to complete all their firing to then decide that earlier volley was sufficiently destructive of their cohesion to cause them to run away? I don't think so. If things were that bad it would begin to melt away at an increasing pace.

Of course in reality that second battalion might well still have fired as its target fled but without measureable effect. We will never know. :)

John

Post Reply