Faltering support

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
Maturin
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:21 am

Faltering support

Post by Maturin » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:23 pm

A small ambiguity in my mind...
In prohibited supports against a charge
h. pg. 43 states:
Faltering brigades cannot commit supports.
Exception: If you have one attacker directly charging two adjacent
defending units from a Faltering brigade, then one defending unit is
automatically drawn into the combat as a support and a reroll may
be used.
What is the definition of adjacent here?
Is it within support distance but not wholly to the rear?
or is the interpretation that the charger is directly charging and will contact BOTH units
Thanks
T

Archdukek
Posts: 2914
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Faltering support

Post by Archdukek » Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:56 pm

I read it as being the second, both units have to be directly charged and could potentially be contacted by the attackers. For that reason it is an exception to the normal rule for Faltering brigades. Otherwise it would be no different to the usual support conditions.

John

DCRBrown
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Faltering support

Post by DCRBrown » Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:00 pm

T/J,

Yep, that's right - your charging unit charges at its target and also at the front of an enemy flanking support. So, if it went to melee the chargers would contact both units.

This would only normally occur if the chargers are in line.

DB

Post Reply